Make-Ahead Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Maridele, Thank you very much for this recipe. It's easy & delicious. I'm not a great baker; so I was thrilled that a cake I made from scratch came out so good. I added about 3/4 cup of blueberries and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the batter, also reduced the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. Can't wait to make this again. As another reviewer said, next time I would put a layer of the topping in the middle too. Thanks again, Mimi S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I was short on supplies, so made several changes which still turned out fabulous! Use 1/2 c. sugar and 1/3 c honey for the 1 c. sugar in the original recipe. Only put in 1/2 tsp nutmeg since it can be overpowering. Used 1 c. greek yogurt instead of 8 oz. sour cream. Gently folded 2 c. fresh raspberries into the batter. Used hazelnuts instead of pecans. Turned out AMAZING! Very moist and the berries really shined. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HipChickDigs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Amazing, just follow the instructions and you will turn out with the perfect breakfast or brunch for whatever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Awesome cake! We were asked to bring a coffee cake to church one Sunday, and I'd never made one before. This cake was so easy, but it was really moist and delicious! My pan was the first one emptied, which was sad (because I didn't have any left to take back home).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very good and easy to put together, but not ultra fantastic. The coffeecake was gone in minutes once the church breakfast began! The topping made the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
this came out great! very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I'm giving it 5 stars b/c everyone said it was wonderful. I thought it was good but I would give it 4.5 stars if I could. I didn't bake it exactly as directed. I used a bundt pan and doubled the topping. I layered 1/2 the batter, put in 1/2 the doubled topping and then the rest of the batter. It looked and tasted great but it didn't keep long. It was a bit drier than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Giles Hester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Wonderful coffee cake. I was having a friend over for coffee in the morning so I ran to the store at 10pm and whipped it up by 11. I was a little nervous about serving a cake before trying it but it was terrific. It was not dry at all. I misread the intructions and used half the amount of nutmeg and it was just right, not overpowering at all. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
DS was having a friend over today and they both had requested coffee cake. I don't make many, so I hit allrecipes... found this recipe, read the reviews and whipped it together last night. Baked it this morning. I will say, it was absolutely lovely! Light and airy. I will say it took much longer to bake than the recipe stated, but that could be our altitude. I think it is a fabulous base for making many different, tasty versions and no one will know it is all the same base recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
dry. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States