Make-Ahead Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I am thrilled to be the first one to review and photograph this wonderful recipe. What a treat it was to wake up, turn on the oven, pop in this coffee cake, and then have a house smelling like cinnamon. This is very easy to mix together the night before, and you won't be disappointed that you took the time to do it. This cake rose beautifully, the texture was very light and moist, and the taste was crazy good. The next time that I make this, I'm going to add some chopped apples just for a variation. Maridele, thanks for introducing me to your fabulous coffee cake recipe; going into my Favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I made half of this recipe in an 8” springform pan. The only changes I made were to omit the nutmeg as I’m not a fan, added 1/2 t. vanilla, and I increased the pecans to around 1/3 cup for my half recipe. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. I love the fact that you can make this ahead. Maridele, this is a wonderful coffee cake. We really enjoyed it and I’ll definitely be making it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Great recipe - delicious, light and moist. I prepared in a 9 x 13 glass dish and placed in refrigerator last night, this morning I removed and allowed to warm on the counter before placing in oven. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Next time I make it, I will add 1 teaspoon of salt because I used unsalted butter. Thanks for sharing Maridele - it is a keeper and we enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
EXCELLENT! I love the crunch from the topping. After several mornings of realizing I forgot to make the batter, I decided to go ahead and make it without any refrigeration. If it didn't turn out, it would be no fault of the recipe and no one would know. Well, I can shout out "IT WORKS" and what a treat it was! Although I had to leave out the nuts due to a diet restriction, it was fabulous! Thank you Maridele for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe is easy and delicious even for those of us who don't plan ahead and forget to put it together the night before. I made a batch this morning start to finish and it turned out delicious! Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe with us Maridele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by dereynolds
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Very simple from scratch coffee cake. Made this for our church breakfast on Easter morning. I loved that I could make it the night before and just pop it into the oven. The cinnamon sugar and pecan topping reminds me of German roasted nuts. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dereynolds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Maridele, Thank you very much for this recipe. It's easy & delicious. I'm not a great baker; so I was thrilled that a cake I made from scratch came out so good. I added about 3/4 cup of blueberries and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the batter, also reduced the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. Can't wait to make this again. As another reviewer said, next time I would put a layer of the topping in the middle too. Thanks again, Mimi S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I will make this again, very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is the second coffee cake I've made, and the second one that tasted awesome but had a really over-moist texture. Considering it's a totally different recipe than the last one I made, I know it's something I did, not the recipe itself. I did use plain yogurt instead of sour cream, but it definitely wasn't that that screwed it up, since I swap yogurt in recipes all the time with great success, and the other recipe for coffee cake I used didn't require sour cream to begin with. The biggest change I made was scaling it down to an 8x8 pan, but yet again, I'm sure that's not the problem. I've really got to figure out what I'm doing wrong here! Either way, the flavor was awesome, just like I wanted, but again, something I'm doing is giving me a slightly more bread-pudding-like texture than I'd like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I like that u can prepare it day ahead. Baked this Easter morning and my family really enjoyed it. They said it tasted better than a more complicated one I usually make because it was lighter, and more moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States