Make-Ahead Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
EXCELLENT! I love the crunch from the topping. After several mornings of realizing I forgot to make the batter, I decided to go ahead and make it without any refrigeration. If it didn't turn out, it would be no fault of the recipe and no one would know. Well, I can shout out "IT WORKS" and what a treat it was! Although I had to leave out the nuts due to a diet restriction, it was fabulous! Thank you Maridele for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Yum!! My family loved this!! Served this for breakfast along with scrambled eggs and everyone asked for seconds. This recipe is perfect as written. Thanks so much for sharing!! This will be our go-to coffee cake recipe from now on:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This is terrific first thing in the morning with your coffee. Making it the night before makes it so much easier to have the fresh baked goodness bright and early. I omitted the pecans due to allergy and added a bit more cinnamon...the whole house smelled great as an added bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe is easy and delicious even for those of us who don't plan ahead and forget to put it together the night before. I made a batch this morning start to finish and it turned out delicious! Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe with us Maridele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
So easy -- it was great to wake up the family to the enticing smell of the innamon-laden topping. This is a wonderful and simple treat for brunch or any weekend breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy_tx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I made half of this recipe in an 8” springform pan. The only changes I made were to omit the nutmeg as I’m not a fan, added 1/2 t. vanilla, and I increased the pecans to around 1/3 cup for my half recipe. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. I love the fact that you can make this ahead. Maridele, this is a wonderful coffee cake. We really enjoyed it and I’ll definitely be making it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I will make this again, very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This recipe is easy to make and so tasty its a keeper.Thank you Maridele. What is strange is its title why is it called a coffee cake when coffee is not included in the ingredients list? Nice cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Quick to put together. Bakes up tender and moist. I have a DD who hates nuts so I put chocolate chips and only a little cinnamon and brown sugar on 1/4 of the top and it was just as good. May try adding blueberries to the inside of the cake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Wonderful! Simple to make, smells great, and is light, moist and yummy! I added a touch of cinnamon to the batter and a teaspoon of vanilla too. Made a 9x13 and gave a few plates away! After my husband and I sampled 2 pieces each, we made sure to keep a plate for ourselves too, although I woudn't mind making another batch soon! Thanks for sharing the great recipe! Preparing brunch was so much easier just having to pull this out of the fridge and popping it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States