Make-Ahead Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I made half of this recipe in an 8” springform pan. The only changes I made were to omit the nutmeg as I’m not a fan, added 1/2 t. vanilla, and I increased the pecans to around 1/3 cup for my half recipe. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. I love the fact that you can make this ahead. Maridele, this is a wonderful coffee cake. We really enjoyed it and I’ll definitely be making it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I will make this again, very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This recipe is easy to make and so tasty its a keeper.Thank you Maridele. What is strange is its title why is it called a coffee cake when coffee is not included in the ingredients list? Nice cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Quick to put together. Bakes up tender and moist. I have a DD who hates nuts so I put chocolate chips and only a little cinnamon and brown sugar on 1/4 of the top and it was just as good. May try adding blueberries to the inside of the cake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Wonderful! Simple to make, smells great, and is light, moist and yummy! I added a touch of cinnamon to the batter and a teaspoon of vanilla too. Made a 9x13 and gave a few plates away! After my husband and I sampled 2 pieces each, we made sure to keep a plate for ourselves too, although I woudn't mind making another batch soon! Thanks for sharing the great recipe! Preparing brunch was so much easier just having to pull this out of the fridge and popping it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Great recipe - delicious, light and moist. I prepared in a 9 x 13 glass dish and placed in refrigerator last night, this morning I removed and allowed to warm on the counter before placing in oven. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Next time I make it, I will add 1 teaspoon of salt because I used unsalted butter. Thanks for sharing Maridele - it is a keeper and we enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I love finding a great recipe that I can make in advance and bake the following morning for breakfast or brunch. This coffee cake was wonderful – ideal flavor and texture. I’m not a fan of nutmeg so I did half nutmeg, half cinnamon and it was perfect for us. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is the second coffee cake I've made, and the second one that tasted awesome but had a really over-moist texture. Considering it's a totally different recipe than the last one I made, I know it's something I did, not the recipe itself. I did use plain yogurt instead of sour cream, but it definitely wasn't that that screwed it up, since I swap yogurt in recipes all the time with great success, and the other recipe for coffee cake I used didn't require sour cream to begin with. The biggest change I made was scaling it down to an 8x8 pan, but yet again, I'm sure that's not the problem. I've really got to figure out what I'm doing wrong here! Either way, the flavor was awesome, just like I wanted, but again, something I'm doing is giving me a slightly more bread-pudding-like texture than I'd like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I like that u can prepare it day ahead. Baked this Easter morning and my family really enjoyed it. They said it tasted better than a more complicated one I usually make because it was lighter, and more moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dereynolds
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Very simple from scratch coffee cake. Made this for our church breakfast on Easter morning. I loved that I could make it the night before and just pop it into the oven. The cinnamon sugar and pecan topping reminds me of German roasted nuts. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dereynolds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States