Make-Ahead Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Wonderful coffee cake. I was having a friend over for coffee in the morning so I ran to the store at 10pm and whipped it up by 11. I was a little nervous about serving a cake before trying it but it was terrific. It was not dry at all. I misread the intructions and used half the amount of nutmeg and it was just right, not overpowering at all. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
DS was having a friend over today and they both had requested coffee cake. I don't make many, so I hit allrecipes... found this recipe, read the reviews and whipped it together last night. Baked it this morning. I will say, it was absolutely lovely! Light and airy. I will say it took much longer to bake than the recipe stated, but that could be our altitude. I think it is a fabulous base for making many different, tasty versions and no one will know it is all the same base recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
dry. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I followed the recipe to the letter... almost. I greased my glass 9X13 dish with coconut oil and skipped the flouring. It yielded such a nice result with no sticking, I will certainly do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Tompkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very nice ...except I made and baked right away. It was delicious and moist. I used a 10' round spring form and had no problems with rising or releasing from the pan. Next time I will sprinkle some of the topping in the middle of the cake as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Super easy! Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was such a nice treat on a cold and rainy Sunday morning! I had everything prepared the night before and slipped the cake into the oven while the coffee perked. As the kids woke up they said the house smelled like Christmas. It was a very nice and easy going morning we all enjoyed. I did sub soy cream cheese for the dairy version. I also used sodium free baking powder and sodium free baking soda. I added some home made vanilla to the batter and omitted the salt. I used a coffeecake bunt pan and dusted with powdered sugar to finish it off. I think I will make these for Christmas presents for my neighbors this year as we enjoyed it so much. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This cake is absolutely amazing. It is perhaps the best coffee cake I have ever had. I prepared it using flaxseed meal and water as an egg substitute - my youngest daughter had an egg allergy for a long time and we discovered we loved the flavor it added to our dishes, so even though she's outgrown her allergy we still use the substitute. However, everything else we kept the same. We didn't let it sit, we just put it together and placed it in the oven. It turned out amazing! Even my food snob of a brother who lives with me said it was delicious. I highly recommend this dish for anyone with a craving for coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was an epic fail for me..... I tried to use a bunt pan and there was not the room that the cake needed to rise, luckily I alway have a cookie sheet under everything, also in my mixer the batter wasn't really a pour more of a scoop into the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Eybel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This was the perfect texture -- both moist and light. The only change I made was to use Penzey's baking spice blend in place of both the nutmeg and the cinnamon. Also, I used sour cream with a 25% fat content (which I think is a bit higher than standard American sour cream); based how well that worked and on some of the other reviews, this may not be a good recipe to try and cut calories with low-fat sour cream or yogurt....The only change I might make in the future is to concur with other reviewers and add an additional 1/4-1/2 tsp. salt if using unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States