Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was so good! My search for a great beef stew is finally over. My husband raved about it while he was eating it, mentioned it again later that night, and then raved again when we had leftovers the next night. I cooked the beef stew on low overnight and had my husband shut it off when he got up so it would cool enough for me to put it in the refrigerator before I left for work. It was so good I couldn't stop taking bites. That night, I let it simmer on the stove for about an hour while I made some corn bread to go with it and I had all I could do not to take a bowl. But I convinced myself to wait until I thickened it and it was so worth it. I made no changes to the recipe other than not putting in the mushrooms (my husband hates them) and I used regular paprika and diced tomatoes since that is what I had. I had never put tomatoes in a beef stew but I really think it added something. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I really liked this. I changed a little bit but overall was the same recipe. I didn't have marsala so i used dry white wine and i used regular paprika. The flavor is great, i will make that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julis82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Outstanding! I made minor changes: omitted the wine since I didn't have any and the mushrooms because I don't like them in stew, increased carrots, celery, potatoes by about 50%. This is now THE stew recipe at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rx 2 RV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Yum yum...this was so great. I used regular paprika instead of spanish and it was still awesome. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This is a very nice change from the bay leaf recipies I normally use. I used a Sweet Marsala and it added a really nice hint of sweetness to it. I did thicken the gravy a bit more at the end by spooning the juice into another pan and thickening it separately then mixing it back in to the slowcooker... turned out wonderfully delicious! Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
My husband & I really enjoyed this stew! We love crock pot cooking since it's easy & typically yields enough for left overs. I left out the wine since we don't care for that flavor, used 2.5 pounds of chuck and low sodium broth since organic wasn't available. Still delicious with the slight changes. We paired it with homemade biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I really wanted this recipe to blow me away with the marsala wine and tomatoes. It was definatly really good but I would haave liked more.......... something. I read the reviews about most of the seasoning getting lost in the excess flour so instead of a resealable bag I seasoned the beef in a container w/ a lid and shook untill the meat was seasoned evenly. Then I added 2 tbsp of flour and shook again. The meat was coated prefectly w/ out loosing any flavor. Other than that I made everything else as written. This was very good, but very classic, nothing extrodinary. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
We assembled this with our cooking group then, my family tried the frozen, place everything in the crock pot method--and it was simply, delicious and full of flavor! Total time saver! I will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HerbanSpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is the perfect stew recipe for someone who has never tried to make stew before. It gives you the basic proportions and you can leave out or add ingredients to suit your tastes. I added a little bit of gravy flour at the end to thicken. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was OK. Even after adding the flour the gravy was too thin for us. And there just wasn't much taste. Won't be making this one again I am afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States