Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I really liked this. I changed a little bit but overall was the same recipe. I didn't have marsala so i used dry white wine and i used regular paprika. The flavor is great, i will make that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julis82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This is a very nice change from the bay leaf recipies I normally use. I used a Sweet Marsala and it added a really nice hint of sweetness to it. I did thicken the gravy a bit more at the end by spooning the juice into another pan and thickening it separately then mixing it back in to the slowcooker... turned out wonderfully delicious! Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
My husband hates beef stew, but LOVED this! Even my very picky two yr old ate it. We gave the leftovers to our inlaws and they loved it too! Great recipe - Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Yum yum...this was so great. I used regular paprika instead of spanish and it was still awesome. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
We assembled this with our cooking group then, my family tried the frozen, place everything in the crock pot method--and it was simply, delicious and full of flavor! Total time saver! I will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HerbanSpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
My husband & I really enjoyed this stew! We love crock pot cooking since it's easy & typically yields enough for left overs. I left out the wine since we don't care for that flavor, used 2.5 pounds of chuck and low sodium broth since organic wasn't available. Still delicious with the slight changes. We paired it with homemade biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I thought this was an excellent dish\. My whole family loved it! Had to make a couple modifications due to a tomato and mushroom allergy, but otherwise didn't mess with it the first time. Added the thickener and don't think it did much. Ended up serving it over mashed potatoes and that worked well. Next time I may cut back on the broth a bit and see how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
My husband gobbled this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This recipe was incredible. The problem I tend to have with beef stew is that the meat turns out too dry. This version leaves the meat tender and delicious. Thank you BusySpoons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casualcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I really wanted this recipe to blow me away with the marsala wine and tomatoes. It was definatly really good but I would haave liked more.......... something. I read the reviews about most of the seasoning getting lost in the excess flour so instead of a resealable bag I seasoned the beef in a container w/ a lid and shook untill the meat was seasoned evenly. Then I added 2 tbsp of flour and shook again. The meat was coated prefectly w/ out loosing any flavor. Other than that I made everything else as written. This was very good, but very classic, nothing extrodinary. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States