Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I made this today. It was so good! I wasn't able to fit all of the beef broth in my crockpot, so I followed the directions exactly, except only used 2 cans of beef broth. At the end I added some wondra (flour & water) to thicken. Definately will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Somerville

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Used allrecipes.com's DRY ONION SOUP MIX recipe in lieu of Lipton's brand which contains MSG. It turned out awesome!!! Used Flank Steak since that is what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisajoy
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Loved this recipe, hubby gave it 4 1/2 stars .. Changes I made 1. I didn't flour the meat before browning, but did season it 2. I left out the potatoes .. otherwise I followed the recipe as written .. this recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I don't really care for the traditional "gravy-type" stew....and this was a great alternative. I think the smoked paprika and crushed tomatoes gives it a great flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I followed the directions exactly and I didn't like the wine in it and next time I think I would add an knorr beef boullion. Also, less broth as it was too soupy even after putting cornstarch in. I am definetly going to give it another go as it was not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Awesome! Have tried many stew recipes, this one is very easy and turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Delicious! I made as written with a few enhancements. I added some spices from another recipe - one heaping teaspoon rosemary, one teaspoon parsley and two bay leaves. What flavor! Because several people commented that there was too much juice, I only used 1 can of beef broth instead of three. As it cooked it became plenty juicy. Then after 11 hours in the crock pot I removed about a cup of juice, boiled it and added the cornstarch to thicken. Then I added it back to the crock pot and stirred. Perfect! This is going to be a staple at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chandramarie
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Loved this recipe! I omitted mushrooms as they are something we so not like and the celery as the hub does not like celery cooked. I cooked it in my slow cooker for 5 hours and the meat was so delicious and tender and the veg flavorful. I did have to add cornstarch as the broth was thin; I will cut this down by a third next time. Myself and the hub had seconds! Definitely a new staple in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chandramarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I like to make freezer crock pot meals. I doubled this recipe so I had one cooking in the c.p., and prepared the 2nd batch for freezing. With that one, I found it much simpler to combine all the ingredients, (minus the vegetables) with the pre-browned beef in a freezer bag and placed the bag in a bowl until it was frozen. I will just need to add the fresh veg. or a bag of frozen stew veg. to the c.p. along with the beef & tomato mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States