Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Major Hit!! Few alterations include: In the seasoned flour, we just used 2 tsp homemade essence (same recipe you can buy @ the store, except the smoked paprika, mine has the smoked paprika), which already has the paprika, pepper salt, Ect. (love the smoked paprika) Didn't have fresh mushrooms, so used pkg onion mushroom soup mix instead of just onion soup mix. For veggies I used about 5 potatoes, 5 carrots and a bag of mixed veggies I had on hand. Didn't have any wine, so just left that out. We used bullion to made 4 cups broth, one can of roasted diced tomatoes & did not use cornstarch, but saved the excess flour from the meat & added it about a couple hours in. Was a major hit w/ the entire family (even the 1 year absolutely loved it), hubby said was the best beef stew he'd ever had. Will definitely be using this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew Haiku: "'Stew' and 'Haiku' rhyme! Nevermind that, this was good! Thick, hearty stew, yum!" Halved the recipe, and due to what I had available, had to use diced tomatoes instead of crushed, non-organic beef broth (pfft, I don't always buy into the "organic" marketing), and regular paprika. But wow, when I got home from work, I swear I was like a cartoon character being beckoned to the kitchen with a wafting finger of aroma - smelled awesome! Taste was great on a chilly night; looking forward to leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was a fantastic recipe! I didn't have any wine so I didn't add that. I did add corn and peas. I also used some of our Scottish Highland beef that we raise here on our farm. Real lean beef grown the old way all natural. Also added a little more garlic and it turned out the best stew that we have ever ate in our lives!! Thank you BusySpoons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: White Cloud, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I made this as written except I substituted red wine for Marsala. It takes a lot of time to prepare! It requires more corn starch to thicken all the broth, and it needs more salt. While it was basically a good stew, I thought it was missing "something". Perhaps that "something" was the unique flavor of Marsala. Try it for a nice change from the ordinary beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was pretty good. I made it exactly as written only using regular paprika instead of smoked. It could have used a little more salt, and it definitely needed to be thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made this following the recipe. It was great. Serve with nice crusty bread because it yields a lot of juice/gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Made this the day before a tailgate party. I didn't even have a chance to go back for seconds! what a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Outstanding! I made minor changes: omitted the wine since I didn't have any and the mushrooms because I don't like them in stew, increased carrots, celery, potatoes by about 50%. This is now THE stew recipe at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rx 2 RV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Redway, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is the perfect stew recipe for someone who has never tried to make stew before. It gives you the basic proportions and you can leave out or add ingredients to suit your tastes. I added a little bit of gravy flour at the end to thicken. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was OK. Even after adding the flour the gravy was too thin for us. And there just wasn't much taste. Won't be making this one again I am afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States