Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Loved it! I had to make a few substitutions, as I didn't have all of the ingredients on-hand. I had no mushrooms, no Worcestershire sauce, beef broth, paprika, crushed tomatoes, or cornstarch. I substituted a bit of Bragg's Liquid Aminos for the Worcesterhsire sauce, used water instead of beef broth, and did w/out the paprika, crushed tomatoes and cornstarch. I DID add some rosemary from my garden and a bay leaf, when browning the meat, AND in the crock pot. I also used salt-free Garlic Herb Sensation by The Spice Hunter (Pavillions) in place of seasoned salt...and added some regular salt and pepper. It turned out EXACTLY like my mom used to make...and her recipe box was lost, so I was thrilled to find this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
The was a perfect recipe and easy enough for my daughter to prepare. I omitted the tomatoes (not what I would add to stew) and I used regular paprika. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
We liked this one. Better than other stew recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wookie Don Stiles
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This recipe was absolutely delicious. My family and I enjoyed it so much we're having seconds today. I just started getting into my slow cooker this year it's great. Saves not only time but I'm super mom again without having to be over the stove for more than a hour. This is a must try. Thanks!!!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wookie Don Stiles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Amazing recipe! The only thing I did differently was using red potatoes and no onion. This will be our go to recipe whenever stew is on the menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This is easy and good for a cold night eat in front of a fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
My family loved this stew! I served it with toasted hunks of crusty sour dough, It was a perfect meal for a cold day. It was fork tender in 4.5 hours in my slow cooker on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Loved this! Omitted the mushrooms, used Cherry Red Wine, did not have beef stock so used one cup water mixed with one tablespoon soy sauce, and used a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes that I pureed. I think the pureed tomatoes and one cup water w/ soy sauce made this a hearty, thicker, flavorful meal. As others have stated, the 3 cups of beef stock would be a bit too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
i made this yesterday and it was one of the best i've ever had. we did use the corn starch to thicken. wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Best beef stew ever! I doubled...maybe tripled all the seasoning and used flour instead of corn starch to thicken the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States