Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I've been searching for a beef stew recipe for years. This is it! My kids loved it too. I prepped the meat the night before & added everything to slow cooker the next am. After the 10 hours on low, I transferred it to stove top to simmer for 30 minutes & added cornstarch to thicken. It really was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Seems like a lot of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Hooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Increase the marsala wine to at least 1/2 cup and use it to deglaze the pan after frying the beef. Then pour this into the slow cooker. There's a lot of flavor in the pan. Add some garlic. Instead of worcestershire sauce, I like teriyaki sauce. Thicken the stew with cornstarch and water when it's done. Also goes great with dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Loved this recipe. Followed it exactly and added cubed sweet potatoes as well as white. Took longer in my slow cooker. Added some gravy master to enhance the gravy at the end. My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I don't understand why 1princess (Jan. 17, 2015) would even attempt to make this stew if she didn't have all the ingredients!! Why didn't she drive to the store & buy them?! Don't offer a review unless you can follow the recipe! As others have said-how can you review a recipe you didn't even make?! As a gourmet cook, I'm not interested in someone's inappropriate "substitutions"! As printed this recipe is delicious!! It's even better the second day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
A bit bland tasting...used some hot sauce to steam it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I tried this recipe and it is absolutely, positively the best beef stew recipe I have ever tasted. It is definitely a keeper! Janiceke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Made this recipe last week. It is soooooooo good! Definitely a five star, if not more. My husband and I have had several meals from this batch and it just seems to get better and better. Served it with cornbread and a good glass of red wine. Will definitely put this in the winter rotation of meals. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Loved it! I had to make a few substitutions, as I didn't have all of the ingredients on-hand. I had no mushrooms, no Worcestershire sauce, beef broth, paprika, crushed tomatoes, or cornstarch. I substituted a bit of Bragg's Liquid Aminos for the Worcesterhsire sauce, used water instead of beef broth, and did w/out the paprika, crushed tomatoes and cornstarch. I DID add some rosemary from my garden and a bay leaf, when browning the meat, AND in the crock pot. I also used salt-free Garlic Herb Sensation by The Spice Hunter (Pavillions) in place of seasoned salt...and added some regular salt and pepper. It turned out EXACTLY like my mom used to make...and her recipe box was lost, so I was thrilled to find this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States