Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Super recipe. Made no changes except added a red wine I have left over rather than the Marsala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I made the double recipe, cooked one and froze the other. Both pots were delish! Would have liked to had left-overs the day after but unfortunately, too many people tasted it and that was it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I've tried so many recipes for Beef Stew, this one is just delicious, we loved it, my search is over. I followed the recipe exactly, it's perfect just the way it is. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Best beef stew I ever had. Never thought to put tomatoes in with the other ingredients when making stew. Used regular paprika and added more potatoes but all the flavors were wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I really enjoyed this stew. Even my little girl gobbled it up without complaining (this is an amazing feat). I tripled the recipe and used red wine instead, plus threw in some Italian seasoning. When I cooked the meat I used all the flour mixture and that helped thicken the stew up a bit. The only thing was that it was time consuming to prepare the stew. It worked great for a Saturday night dinner, but to do it before work on a weekday would require a very early morning. All in all...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
De-glazed the pan used to cook the beef and onion (I left out the mushrooms) and poured all the liquid into the crock pot. As we're a small family, I froze half of it to use at another day, as the chef suggested! I also added a potato and 1 carrot and 1 stalk celery. I used Hungarian Paprika, as well. This will now be the Beef Stew recipe we will use! NO leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reine333

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
mixed thoughts. I was very excited to have a bowl and discovered that i didn't think it was that great. Kinda bland. I ended up adding butter, hot sauce and salt to my little bowl. We ate it for dinner the next night. It tasted great on the second day, totally different stew. I didn't add anything to it the next day because it tasted great. My husband thinks this is a 3 star. I think 4. might not be making again though. disclaimer, I had no smoked paprika so I used regular.. i wonder if that makes the difference??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I really love this stew, But I made a few changes, I added about 10 ounces of beef gravy in place of stock, added a bay leaf and a sprinkle of cayenne pepper, and some mini corn and used regular paparika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was delicious! We skipped the dried onion soup and just added our own spices (marjoram, basil, rosemary, garlic & smoked paprika).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UODUCK1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was great. I did use some of the beef broth to deglaze my frying pan. Maybe that evaporated enough to make a difference. I also tilted the lid for the last 2 hours. All together it wasn't too watery. I added salt at the table, others didn't. Aside from that it was great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States