Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Oh my goodness, what a fantastic stew. I do not cook, I have great intentions however I am up early and in late daily. This incredible meal was more than I could hope for. I changed nothing with the exception of adding the paprika and flour an hour before it was done simmering. I paired it with a salad with fresh garden veggies and an onion roll. My boyfriend thought he'd come home to the wrong house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Super recipe. Made no changes except added a red wine I have left over rather than the Marsala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I made the double recipe, cooked one and froze the other. Both pots were delish! Would have liked to had left-overs the day after but unfortunately, too many people tasted it and that was it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I've tried so many recipes for Beef Stew, this one is just delicious, we loved it, my search is over. I followed the recipe exactly, it's perfect just the way it is. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Best beef stew I ever had. Never thought to put tomatoes in with the other ingredients when making stew. Used regular paprika and added more potatoes but all the flavors were wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I really enjoyed this stew. Even my little girl gobbled it up without complaining (this is an amazing feat). I tripled the recipe and used red wine instead, plus threw in some Italian seasoning. When I cooked the meat I used all the flour mixture and that helped thicken the stew up a bit. The only thing was that it was time consuming to prepare the stew. It worked great for a Saturday night dinner, but to do it before work on a weekday would require a very early morning. All in all...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
De-glazed the pan used to cook the beef and onion (I left out the mushrooms) and poured all the liquid into the crock pot. As we're a small family, I froze half of it to use at another day, as the chef suggested! I also added a potato and 1 carrot and 1 stalk celery. I used Hungarian Paprika, as well. This will now be the Beef Stew recipe we will use! NO leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reine333

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
mixed thoughts. I was very excited to have a bowl and discovered that i didn't think it was that great. Kinda bland. I ended up adding butter, hot sauce and salt to my little bowl. We ate it for dinner the next night. It tasted great on the second day, totally different stew. I didn't add anything to it the next day because it tasted great. My husband thinks this is a 3 star. I think 4. might not be making again though. disclaimer, I had no smoked paprika so I used regular.. i wonder if that makes the difference??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I really love this stew, But I made a few changes, I added about 10 ounces of beef gravy in place of stock, added a bay leaf and a sprinkle of cayenne pepper, and some mini corn and used regular paparika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was delicious! We skipped the dried onion soup and just added our own spices (marjoram, basil, rosemary, garlic & smoked paprika).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UODUCK1978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States