Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Excellent recipe my entire family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is a fantastic stew. I made it just as listing omitting just the celery and mushrooms as we don't prefer them. 6 hrs on high, was great as I got a late start cooking today. Came home to an awesome dinner!! Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My husband and I love this stew. Made it for the second time today and love that it is one of those recipes that you can adjust to your liking as far as the veggies etc. are concerned. As long and you keep the basic broth recipe true to the original recipe you are good. Thanks Busyspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is delicious. I used regular paprika but added a little liquid smoke to get the flavor. I also used smokehouse pepper instead of regular black pepper. I did thicken some of the liquid with cornstarch on the stovetop and then added it back to the crockpot. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
My husband has called this my signature dish! My family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Gooood... I didn't use the broth or onion soup mix. And the time seemed excessive, so I just cooked it on the stove in my cast iron for 2+ hours and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I substituted the crushed tomatoes for a can of sun dried tomatoes. It added a zest of flavor without drying out the meat. Fast, easy, and a perfect meal for almost any football game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I didn't have everything on hand that the recipe calls for, but I thought it turned out great! I didn't have mushrooms, paprika, organic beef broth, or dry onion soup mix. I substituted a bay leaf, 2 teaspoons beef bouillon in two cups water, and diced onion. This stew had more flavor than any I have made in the past. Some reviews stated the broth was too thin, but I simply added 2 tablespoons cornstarch at the end in a small amount of water, and it instantly became a wonderful thick stew broth. Excellent and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Very good beef stew. Perfect blend of flavors. The only thing I did differently was instead of mushrooms which we do not care for in stew I used cubed turnip. Leftovers were very good and had enough to throw in the freezer for a meal for hubby when I am not home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Oh my goodness, what a fantastic stew. I do not cook, I have great intentions however I am up early and in late daily. This incredible meal was more than I could hope for. I changed nothing with the exception of adding the paprika and flour an hour before it was done simmering. I paired it with a salad with fresh garden veggies and an onion roll. My boyfriend thought he'd come home to the wrong house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States