Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Awesome! Have tried many stew recipes, this one is very easy and turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Delicious! I made as written with a few enhancements. I added some spices from another recipe - one heaping teaspoon rosemary, one teaspoon parsley and two bay leaves. What flavor! Because several people commented that there was too much juice, I only used 1 can of beef broth instead of three. As it cooked it became plenty juicy. Then after 11 hours in the crock pot I removed about a cup of juice, boiled it and added the cornstarch to thicken. Then I added it back to the crock pot and stirred. Perfect! This is going to be a staple at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chandramarie
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Loved this recipe! I omitted mushrooms as they are something we so not like and the celery as the hub does not like celery cooked. I cooked it in my slow cooker for 5 hours and the meat was so delicious and tender and the veg flavorful. I did have to add cornstarch as the broth was thin; I will cut this down by a third next time. Myself and the hub had seconds! Definitely a new staple in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chandramarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I like to make freezer crock pot meals. I doubled this recipe so I had one cooking in the c.p., and prepared the 2nd batch for freezing. With that one, I found it much simpler to combine all the ingredients, (minus the vegetables) with the pre-browned beef in a freezer bag and placed the bag in a bowl until it was frozen. I will just need to add the fresh veg. or a bag of frozen stew veg. to the c.p. along with the beef & tomato mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Excellent recipe my entire family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is a fantastic stew. I made it just as listing omitting just the celery and mushrooms as we don't prefer them. 6 hrs on high, was great as I got a late start cooking today. Came home to an awesome dinner!! Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My husband and I love this stew. Made it for the second time today and love that it is one of those recipes that you can adjust to your liking as far as the veggies etc. are concerned. As long and you keep the basic broth recipe true to the original recipe you are good. Thanks Busyspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is delicious. I used regular paprika but added a little liquid smoke to get the flavor. I also used smokehouse pepper instead of regular black pepper. I did thicken some of the liquid with cornstarch on the stovetop and then added it back to the crockpot. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
My husband has called this my signature dish! My family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States