Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I have never given a 1 star review, but I was so upset over the results of this. I made this EXACTLY per recipe. THIS IS NOT BEEF STEW..all I can taste is the can of crushed tomatoes - IT'S AWEFUL!!! I came home all excited for this dish for dinner and it smelled amazing in my house, but then I dipped in to taste it and BLAH - it was like tomato soup with beef and vegetables in it. This didn't even taste a little like beef stew. My husband tried it and said he refused to eat it for dinner. I took out all the liquids and rebuilt it again without the tomatoes and salvaged it to where it was tolerable, but I will NEVER use this recipe again. If you like the taste of canned tomatoes and you eat a lot of cambells tomato soup you'll love this, otherwise don't bother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
this was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This was delicious! I should have used more beef.. Didn't realize I only had half what the recipe calls for till it was too late. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
great! The only thing I changed was they type of wine, but only because I couldn't find it Aldi. We thickened ours up, and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Excellent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Honestly, I can't stand stew and will only make it when desperate during the winter. This was a great surprise. The meat was "like butter" and the flavors were delicious. I didn't have crushed tomatoes so used diced...no big deal at all. In my rush to get everything into the crock pot before work, I didn't read the reviews. After the fact, I did, and absolutely agree with reviewers that said there was too much liquid. Next time I will half the broth, and even at that, it still may be too much! Eyeball it. Other than that, this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I used Angus cut beef cubes, veggie stock and followed the recipe exactly and this was a superb Beef Stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Made it just as recipe calls for and my husband loved it. Added a little cayenne for kicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Followed this recipe EXACTLY as written, including using real Spanish SMOKED paprika, something most reviewers admit they did not do. It has been in the crockpot for about eight hours on low. It smells good, but the flavor is very strong and tastes very much like the smoked paprika. I'm okay with that as my family is from Spain and we use that spice in many dishes. It is not a traditional American beef stew flavor, however. I'm not sure anyone other than me will really like it. I've done several samples and agree with some of the other reviewers that it is somewhat bland. It needs "something". I'm reluctant to just add a lot of salt but I do think that would help, although I'm not sure that's the best solution healthwise. As of right now what is in the crockpot is more of a soup than a stew, sort of the consistency of typical beef barley. The paprika also has made the entire thing pretty red in color, not at all like the photo and again not a typical looking American beef stew. I am going to serve it with a crusty bread for soaking up the broth, will add more salt, and will keep my fingers crossed that it is better tomorrow, as some reviewers have stated. I am giving it three stars now as it doesn't look anything like the photo and is definitely missing something it needs to give it a more full bodied flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Can't rate because I have tried it yet. However, it sounds yummy and will try this beef stew recipe this weekend. However, the recipe says add garlic, but no garlic is listed in the ingredients section. Just curious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States