Make Ahead Pie Crusts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Mediocre. The taste is about on par with store bought frozen crusts. I originally liked that it had fewer ingredients than my grandmother's recipe, but the amount of work to prepare was the same and the result was nowhere near. For some reason, my crust also burned way too easily even when using tin foil. Final verdict: either buy pillsbury or use a traditional crust recipe (same amount of work).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Wonderfully short, tasty crust. I love it. I used only 16 ounces of soda pop; more would have been too moist. I've given some of the frozen dough to friends as they liked the cooked crust so much! Thanks for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I looked at this and was a bit taken back and then I read the reviews. I am horrified and offend to the Author of this submission by the 2 or 3 moron's who had the audacity to rate and comment of a recipe they had not even tried. I too have a master in Culinary Arts from a well know and well rated top Culinary School. There is NOTHING wrong with this recipe. After reading the mostly 5 Star reviews I am bound and determined to make it as soon as humanly possible. Shame on you few that are so ignorant. Thank you to our submitter it looks as it you helped a lot of people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
forgot about this recipe-used it years ago-you can also keep flour and crisco in gallon glass jar and add what soda you need to make individual pies-keeps forever that way,too. thanks for sharing it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
While this wouldn't impress the avid baker in my family, it is perfect for me! On a busy night it's ideal to thaw for a quick quiche or pot pie. Just make sure to make the "baseballs" big enough. I made them too small my first try so had to use two per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is my third time to use this recipe and I sincerely hope it is better with the modifications I have made. The two previous batches were made exactly as directed but the resulting crusts were balls of grease...there is either TOO MUCH SHORTENING or TOO LITTLE FLOUR...same difference....additionally it needs salt. These are the changes I have made. 7 lbs flour, 3 lbs shortening, 2 T salt, 28 oz soda. Wish me good results as I REALLY need a good bulk pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I am on my second batch now only because I have time to. I made a batch June 29th of this year and ran out ( not knowing my other half was using them for his pies.lol)right before Thanksgiving. I had to get store bought for the last pie. I am glad in a way that happened as it showed me the BIG difference in taste & texture. SUPERMOMOF4's was by far better all around.The store bought came out doughy tasting even though it was cooked the same way as this recipe. SUPERMOF4'S was flaky and had a wonderful taste(all I had was reg. Sprite). I did some balls but also put them right into a pie pan and froze them.(so much easier & quicker to making pies). I used my Foodsaver to vacuum seal it. Everyone mentioned how light and flaky the crust was. This is my pie crust from now on. Thank you SUPERMOMF4 for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truckersmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I just used this crust to make a caramel apple pie and it is amazing!!! thank you for sharing this. I plan on trying a savory pie for dinner tomorrow night we will see how it goes. thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Extremely easy. I cut this recipe down a lot in order to try it. I cut it to 5 servings and got about the amount needed for 5 crusts. I put four in the freezer and used one for a quiche. It worked perfectly . . .I think I may make more of this crust to hang out in the freezer for more quiche. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Wow, is this a lot of pie crusts... but very tasty and flaky, and they do freeze super well! The only thing I could complain about is finding a bowl/tub big enough to mix them in all at once, but it's really such a small thing to whine about when they're so convenient afterwards! ^_^ Five gold stars, two thumbs up, and thank you so much for the time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States