Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
excellent for everyday meals and for company. great basic recipe. use your imagination for the different spices that could be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Great for someone who doesn't have time the day that they are enteraining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teta 265

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Heats up beautifully when ready to serve. Can be heated in crock pot. Works better with russets due to the extended beating. A little bland without garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These potatoes are a life saver!! I will always make these for Thanksgiving from now on. I made them exactly as the recipe stated. I heated them in my slow cooker. There were delicious, everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Made for Thanksgiving and was asked to make again for Christmas! A definite make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
To conserve on oven space I prepared these a few hours in advance and kept them on hold in my slow cooker, separating the cover from the pot with a terry towel to absorb any moisture and stirring them periodically. I used a few good-sized cloves of garlic in the boiling water instead of the onion powder, a full eight ounce package of cream cheese, and found I didn't need the milk at all. I thought I'd miss any addition of butter, but was surprised I didn't. Good, basic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This recipe is awesome. I made my potatoes early in the morning for my 4 pm Thanksgiving dinner, so all I had to do was put the pan in the oven after I took out my turkey to rest. They were perfect. Also, I steamed my potatoes instead of boiling them. Steaming them helps lessen the gluey-ness of the potatoes, which I was worried about with make-ahead potatoes. If you want to get really advanced, you can steam the potatoes and when they are about halfway cooked, you take them out and spray them with cold water to get rid of any gluey starch buildup that has started. Then steam them again, and rinse them in cold water again when they are fully cooked. Because this is a make-ahead recipe, this will work well because it doesn't matter if they cool off from the water. Great recipe, definitely helped my stress level and helped me to sit with my guests and relax on Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving because I liked the idea of making this ahead for my Crockpot. It was easy to make and the consistency was great. However the taste was way too rich for my liking. Next time I will only add 1 package of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
What a great alternative to frenzied potato mashing as your trying to get the rest of the food on for Thanksgiving. I followed another reviewers advice and reheated in my crock pot to save on oven space. I ended up putting them in too early, woops, next time I think they will only need about 2 1/2 hours on low...don't forget to stir. I omitted the onion salt and sauted a minced shallot and clove of garlic in a couple Tbsp. butter and added that and 1 tsp. salt to the potatoes instead. YUM! Thanks for making Thanksgiving dinner a little easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving 2009. No one liked them. I followed the recipe, made no changes. While they were cooking and after we mashed them and added everything the recipe called for, and taste tested them they were wonderful. We couldn't wait to try them at dinner time. . But after putting them in the casserole and baking them they tasted totally different. Won't waste my time make these again ..........ever. Very costly recipe to make and not have it be good !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenbush Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenbush, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States