Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I followed this exactly except used russet since store was out of yukons. While I love cream cheese, I found the tang a bit too overwhelming in the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Rich, creamy and oh so delicious! This is certainly comfort food at it's best! But, the very best part about this recipe is the fact that you can "Make it Ahead" of time which is a real life-saver around the holidays! I didn't bother baking this in a casserole because my oven was doing all the work with the rest of the meal. I simply put this in my crock pot on low in order to reheat and serve. Definitely not for those counting calories and something you want to save for special occasions - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These are perfect! I made them the day before Thanksgiving and refrigerated overnight. I place them in the crock pot the morning of Thanksgiving and heated on low for 6-7 hours. I doubled the recipe and used russet potatoes. I added the cream cheese and sour cream first and didn't end up needing any milk. I didn't have onion salt, so I just used table salt. Very rich, creamy potatoes. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I am so glad I found this recipe! It was a snap to prepare and absolutely delicious! I used petite Yukon gold potatoes, fat-free sour cream, and I omitted the milk.... I will definitely make these again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
What a pleasure to be able to make mashed potatoes without the last-minute hassle of peeling, cooking and mashing. These are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Jumped on this recipe for the instructions to heat them up in the Crock-Pot, which worked beautifully! The recipe was the same as we’d been making them in our family for years, except for the addition of sour cream instead of a full cup of milk or even half and half! We just couldn’t get past the, well, sour taste, however. We kept adding half and half to try and sweeten them up! Will never use the sour cream again; just isn’t to our taste. but will always use the Crock-Pot - thanks for the great idea! Also, instead of 2 tsp. onion salt, we use 1 each of onion and garlic powders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Jones Newman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Great recipe! It's a wonderful time saver too. I made them on Christmas Eve and heated them up the next day. All my guests loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Sooo good! Added a little minced garlic and garlic salt, and it was really good! Maybe next time I'd use a little less milk though to make it just a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These were great! Added some butter infused with garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made these Christmas Eve, with a few minor changes. I cooked the potatoes in chicken broth, I was also GOING to add some garlic cloves, but forgot. When I was mashing them I added about 5 ozs cream cheese, 8 oz sour cream, 1/2 cup heavy cream (b/c I wanted to use it up), and garlic powder, salt and pepper. Put them in the crock pot w/ a few pats of butter, and popped in the fridge overnight. Christmas morning I took them out and let them thaw a bit on the counter, then cooked on the low setting of the crock pot for about 4 hrs. They were perfect! Nobody could believe they were made the day before, and everyone absolutely loved them! Will make many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States