Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
As is, I thought these just weren't very good. They were too dry and bland. I wound up adding about 1/2 cup butter, a little extra milk and some salt. (The onion salt was completely unnoticed) After these changes, they tasted like ordinary mashed potates with milk and butter. I think maybe if you add butter to this recipe you might want to increase the amount of sour cream for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
These mashed potatoes are delicious! I used garlic salt instead of onion salt. I made them for my family's Thanksgiving dinner and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and although it was nice to have them done ahead of time, the last thing I needed was to have another thing to put in my oven while making a turkey, other casseroles, and baking rolls. Nobody commented specifically about the potatoes being different...once gravy was used I don't think anyone even noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Delicious mashed potatoes. What a plus to be able to do them ahead of time. I served them last Thanksgiving and my family loved them. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
I served this recipe (12 servings)as a Thanksgiving "trial" to a dinner group of 6 adults and it was almost ALL gone, mostly because the men in the group ate 2 huge servings each. It will be a big help this Thanksgiving not to have to be peeling potatoes the "day of". It tastes a lot like twice-baked potatoes; you have to like sour cream and cream cheese. I didn't have any onion salt so used onion powder and salt. I whipped the potatoes with an electric mixer. Texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
It was an expensive way to find out that the best mashed potatoes are just the old standby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLSELEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enslev, Midtjylland, Denmark
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This dish was very good, but the Southern soul inside of me couldn't understand why I was eating unbuttered potatoes. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
i didn't make these myself but found this recipe for a close friend who served them at a family dinner party. they were a big hit. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
I made these for Thanksgiving diner (Canada) on Monday and they were a big hit. What a great time saver. I will substitute fat free cream cheese and fat free sour cream the next time I make them and see how they turn out. I think keeping a container of them in the freezer would be a great idea. These tasted great without gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Absolutely the best mashed potatoes I've ever made or eaten. Made them a day ahead for a big dinner and it was great not to have the mess that day. I put them in a crock pot and heated on low all day. Very easy and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States