Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Make these every Thanksgiving now. So good and helps doing them ahead. I usually put a couple of cloves of garlic in the pot when I boil the potoes and then just mash them right in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I thought these were very tasty! I used fat-free sour cream, and reduced-fat cream cheese, and then baked them (covered) the next day. They were fluffy and not dry at all. My 10 month old and three year old ate them up, and normally mashed potatoes are very unappealing to them. I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberfoyle, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Very Yum and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
These are sooooo delicious! They were a huge hit when I cooked for a crowd ~ very easy too. I added bacon to mine also which made them even more sinful. We all have to indulge now and then right? Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I made these for company and also added a can of fried onions - half in the mixture and baked - and before it was done, sprinkled the other half on top and finished baking. All my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This was a very good recipe. I did add about a 1/2 tsp. of chopped garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Made these for Thanksgiving and I absolutely loved them. Since then I have made them 2 more times. I love the onion salt and the flavor it gives. The last time I used garlic salt and they were so yummy! I also like the convenience of making them ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Made these at Thanksgiving and my children are asking for them for Christmas. Making them ahead of time is a great convenience especially if you are traveling out of town as we did. I did use garlic salt as suggested by others and I topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I use a recipe very similar to this one but with a few changes. I don't use any milk but use two sticks of margarine instead. After boiling peeled potatos, I place all ingredients in a large bowl and use an electric mixer to combine ingredients and make them very fluffy. I don't use any onion salt either, just lots of pepper and salt. I don't ever bake mine either. If making ahead, I put them in a microwave safe caserole bowl and microwave them for about 10-15 minutes prior to serving. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I made these the night before Thanksgiving and popped them in the oven for 30 minutes with a few pats of butter on top. The texture was great and I loved the convenience, but I found the flavor a little lacking. I will probably try it again and use garlic salt instead of onion salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States