Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made these for my daughter's birthday dinner. Followed the recipe except used 1 teaspoon of minced garlic in the water while boiling the potatoes. Also used half and half for the milk. My family raved after them. This will definitely be a holiday keeper! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I usually make my mashed potatoes this way. The only difference is that I heat up the cream cheese, sour cream and milk before I add them in. A trick my Grandmother taught me is to add 1 teaspoon of baking powder to the mashed potatoes and they puff up and become light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I made this thanksgiving morning. Instead of baking the potatoes I just mixed everything together in my crock pot dish and stored it in the fridge. A few hours before dinner I warmed them in the crock pot on high and they were amazing. Best mashed potatoes I've ever had. Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this recipe this morning for Thanksgiving and after mixing potatos,cream cheese and butter I found that I didn't need any milk, they seemed a little running. Also didn't add the sour cream. Have them in the crockpot to keep warm till dinner and hoping they will stiffen up some while waiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
We've been making a very similar recipe for years. This is great if you need to prepare ahead for Christmas or Thanksgiving. I would highly doubt if anyone would be able to tell they weren't mashed that very day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I have been using this recipe for mashed pots for years. The order in which you add ingredients matters in this recipe. If you like creamy mashed potatoes, mash the potatoes first, by themselves, then add the remaining ingredients. Also, to take these over the top, sauté grated or finely chopped onion in butter, and add to potatoes with cream cheese and sour cream (1/2 medium onion to 3-4 tablespoons butter). So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylovestoeat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These are awesome potatoes, and oh, so easy! Love being able to have this side dish ready ahead. I make them ahead, and keep them in the refrigerator. I've reheated them both ways...in the oven and in the crock pot and they are wonderful either way. I've also doubled the batch and frozen a pan for later use. Used russets instead of Yukon gold~~everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I followed this exactly except used russet since store was out of yukons. While I love cream cheese, I found the tang a bit too overwhelming in the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Rich, creamy and oh so delicious! This is certainly comfort food at it's best! But, the very best part about this recipe is the fact that you can "Make it Ahead" of time which is a real life-saver around the holidays! I didn't bother baking this in a casserole because my oven was doing all the work with the rest of the meal. I simply put this in my crock pot on low in order to reheat and serve. Definitely not for those counting calories and something you want to save for special occasions - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These are perfect! I made them the day before Thanksgiving and refrigerated overnight. I place them in the crock pot the morning of Thanksgiving and heated on low for 6-7 hours. I doubled the recipe and used russet potatoes. I added the cream cheese and sour cream first and didn't end up needing any milk. I didn't have onion salt, so I just used table salt. Very rich, creamy potatoes. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States