Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I am so glad I found this recipe! It was a snap to prepare and absolutely delicious! I used petite Yukon gold potatoes, fat-free sour cream, and I omitted the milk.... I will definitely make these again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
What a pleasure to be able to make mashed potatoes without the last-minute hassle of peeling, cooking and mashing. These are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Jumped on this recipe for the instructions to heat them up in the Crock-Pot, which worked beautifully! The recipe was the same as we’d been making them in our family for years, except for the addition of sour cream instead of a full cup of milk or even half and half! We just couldn’t get past the, well, sour taste, however. We kept adding half and half to try and sweeten them up! Will never use the sour cream again; just isn’t to our taste. but will always use the Crock-Pot - thanks for the great idea! Also, instead of 2 tsp. onion salt, we use 1 each of onion and garlic powders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Great recipe! It's a wonderful time saver too. I made them on Christmas Eve and heated them up the next day. All my guests loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Sooo good! Added a little minced garlic and garlic salt, and it was really good! Maybe next time I'd use a little less milk though to make it just a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These were great! Added some butter infused with garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made these Christmas Eve, with a few minor changes. I cooked the potatoes in chicken broth, I was also GOING to add some garlic cloves, but forgot. When I was mashing them I added about 5 ozs cream cheese, 8 oz sour cream, 1/2 cup heavy cream (b/c I wanted to use it up), and garlic powder, salt and pepper. Put them in the crock pot w/ a few pats of butter, and popped in the fridge overnight. Christmas morning I took them out and let them thaw a bit on the counter, then cooked on the low setting of the crock pot for about 4 hrs. They were perfect! Nobody could believe they were made the day before, and everyone absolutely loved them! Will make many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This was so good and so nice to have all done the day before, only change was I use chive cream cheese and 1/2 & 1/2 for milk , put in 9x13 pan and it was great the next day. thanks for sharing this recipe now a regular one for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Made this for the holiday a day before and it turned out great. I like my mashed potatoes creamy so I used all the ingredients as listed and added four tablespoons unsalted butter. After spreading in a greased baking dish, I then drizzled two tablespoons of melted butter on top and sprinkled with paprika. Refrigerated 24 hours then brought to room temperature (about an hour)and baked 30 minutes at 350 degrees with aluminum foil on top then took foil off and baked an additional 20 minutes. Came out delicious and shows nice too. Perfect for making ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Made these potatoes for Thanksgiving. Instead of baking, followed others' suggestion and put them in the slow cooker. Put a few pats of butter on top, but it wasn't necessary to keep the potatoes from being too stiff. Rave reviews from guests! Thanks for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTaterPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States