Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I love to find new recipes that I can make ahead for large family gatherings and holidays, and this was a Thanksgiving favorite! I made these the day before, boiling my potatoes in vegetable stock, for added flavor. I only had 1 package of cream cheese, but I used heavy cream instead of milk, so they were still creamy. I also substitued plain yogurt for the sour cream, and white pepper for black pepper (white pepper makes a huge difference--try it!). My family LOVED these and I loved having one less thing to make on Thanksgiving. I actually had time to sit and watch a little football this year! Thank you, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
So easy and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
When I added this recipe to my recipe box and discovered I had used it last year, I decided it was time to categorize my recipes to prevent duplication. Obviously, we enjoy these potatoes. This is a simple and good recipe that eliminates last minute hustle; true comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I make these every holiday. They are fantastic. Adding parsley or chives gives a beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Yum! Scaled it down for 3 people. Very nice, and perfect for a make-ahead dish. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roz147

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Very strong cream cheese taste to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milo1898
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I made a LOT of ingredient substitutions on this one (last minute decision, had to go with what we had), so this review is mostly for the method used here, and not the flavors. I was really pleased with how these came out! I didn't add as much milk as recommended and was worried that they'd dry out in the oven, but they didn't; they were a little more solid than my regular mashed potatoes, but far from dry. So I'd advise making them to your desired consistency and flavor before baking, or just a tiny bit wetter. (FWIW, I used goat cheese instead of cream cheese, reduced fat sour cream, kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper instead of onion salt, and a big spoonful of whatever psuedo-butter-in-a-tub is currently in our fridge. I'd totally recommend any of those changes, but I'd also like to try the recipe as written.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
excellent for everyday meals and for company. great basic recipe. use your imagination for the different spices that could be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Great for someone who doesn't have time the day that they are enteraining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teta 265

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Heats up beautifully when ready to serve. Can be heated in crock pot. Works better with russets due to the extended beating. A little bland without garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States