Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Update below: These were bland in my opinion.. They do not keep warm when transfering to the heat proof bowl. If I were to ever make these again I would add chives, cream cheese, onion salt, something to taste.I have made these again since my first review. I make them early in the morning and put them into a crock pot,with a stick of butter on top,put on the warm setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENELYSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
We really liked these! They come out creamy and smooth..almost like instant only they taste better. They are easy to reheat and you can't tell that you've made them at an earlier time. I'm sure you could add things to them but I think the whole idea of this recipe was "make ahead" saving you time and stove space later. I'll use this again in the future for when I need extra time to make something else to go with them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
i loved this recipe. you can easily add flavoring.. such as garlic or herbs to taste. this is the only make ahead mashed potato recipe that i found that didn't have sour cream and/or cream cheese in it.. which i don't care for. a huge time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
FINALLY, someone who knows how to make mashed potatoes. Cooking potatoes whole keeps them from absorbing too much water. If you wish to peel them, remove them from the boiling water and set in ice water for a few moments to cool enough to handle them and the skins rub right off. Always use unsalted butter as it works better for the moisture content. Use fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and you have less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Using my food mill was a lot more work than just peeling, boiling and mashing. Still had to use an electric mixer afterward. Half and half was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Great Recipe, I added about 1/2 tsp minced garlic in oil when boiling the potatoes and then simmered it down before mashing. Other thyan that followed thr recipe for a great potato dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Prince George, Virginia, USA
Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I have more time in the mornings to prepare that night's dinner so I always make my mashed potatoes ahead of time this way. No one can ever tell the difference. I prefer to peel my taters before boiling and I use electric beaters to whip them to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could. My hubby kept asking me if I was sure these potatoes would taste good the next day for our guests. Not only were they good, my guests ate them up so fast, I barely got a taste! Heating them up was so easy. I just popped them in the microwave for about 7 minutes on high, stopping once to stir. Once heated, I added the recommended butter and covered with plastic wrap until lunch time. They tasted divine! No one guessed they'd been cooked yesterday...and I certainly didn't tell! Oh, one more thing, pierce the potatoes with a fork a few times before boiling with skins on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
These came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States