Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made these to take to my in-laws for an early Thanksgiving on Sunday. They were SO GOOD!! If I could give them 10 stars I would. The best mashed potatoes I ever made. Everyone loved them. Thank you Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YankeeFan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
But wait......we like to add grated sweet onions in our taters. Just use a raw onion and grate over bowl/pot you are about to mash your cooked potatoes in. Use as much or as little as you like and then proceed with adding remaining ingredients. It makes these spuds the BOMB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Nice Recipe, thanks for sharing. My Family loves Mashed Potato's, we leave the skin on however making for a less creamy more rustic type dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handy Andy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was perfect for me today being low on time. I only made one substitution, I used evaporated milk in place of the half-n-half only because that was what I had on hand. I also added a good amount fresh ground pepper. A couple hours before dinner, I was able to transfer these potatoes to my slow cooker and keep them warm until dinner. Worked out GREAT. These potatoes taste EXACTLY like the ones Grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I peel the potatoes before boiling. I always boilg potatoes whole -- they absorb less water. Add a big scoop of minced garlic to the water. I don't add cream cheese, but rather a large scoop of sour cream. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Terrific recipe. Made it day ahead for both Thanksgiving and Christmas and it was great. Recipe said, and reviewers concurred, that key to good taste was to wait until the day of serving to add the butter. But even a day after that with butter it still tasted good. I used unsalted butter because I like to add my own salt; I find the sweetness of unsalted butter with the freshness of my own added salt makes a good contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Love these! For some extra flavor, gently heat the half and half with a garlic clove or two before mixing with the potatoes. I have also used part buttermilk and half and half. These also freeze quite well - they are watery once thawed, but the moisture is absorbed well and they fluff right back up when heated. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is the way to "de-stress" during cooking a Thanksgiving meal! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Used yukon gold potatoes. Followed other reveiwers suggestions, made the night before, put in the crockpot on low in the morning with a stick of butter on top- turned on warm after 3 hours. Came out great, whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States