Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This ended up being a great technique, especially when it gets busy in the kitchen! Very helpful and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RnRMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Needs extra butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Delicious! This recipe turned out great for our family Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I don't like mashed potatoes, but this was liked by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I cooked my potatoes a couple of hours before our Christmas lunch, keeping the skin on. After they were done, my husband started peeling the potatoes for me. I started w/ a few potatoes and some half and half and used my electric beater to mix. As he got more peeled, I added more potatoes, and more half and half, etc, etc. I eventually added my salt and black pepper. Right before serving lunch, I heated the potatoes in the microwave and added a stick of butter. They were really thick and very tasty. My children love mashed potatoes and went back for seconds….and yes, thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Athens, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and they were very bland and boring. The only reason I gave them two stars is because they are from scratch, try another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I added a bit too much garlic, but otherwise I was pleased with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These were excellent mashed potatoes, and a real timesaver! I mixed in some roasted garlic to complement the roast pork loin (also from Pam Anderson) I made. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Really good Recipe! I made these the night before and switched out the half and half for low fat milk. The next morning I put them in the slow cooker on warm with a stick of butter on top (a recommendation from another reviewer) and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I altered the recipe somewhat. It is a good base to start with. I was cooking for 15 people and wanted to have plenty of potatoes (plus leftovers!). I used about 13-14 lbs of potatoes, cooking in three separate batches. I did peel the potatoes first. When mashing I added 1/2 cup half and half, a couple of ozs of cream cheese, about 2 tbsp butter, salt, freshly ground pepper and onion powder to taste for each batch and as I finished each batch I put them in my large slow cooker. The next day I added additional butter while reheating. I got many compliments from my family and they tasted great with and without the turkey gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States