Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Yummy! After putting the potatoes in the casserole dish, I topped it with some garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
made for Thanksgiving and warmed up in crockpot morning of. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Would not make this again and should not have tried it the first time for a holiday dinner. Can not compare to fresh made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made these potatoes 2 days before Thanksgiving. Only thing I did differently was to use 8 oz cream cheese and added garlic powder before mashing. Heated them in a crock pot on low about 5 hours before the meal with butter dotted on top. Everyone loved them and couldn't believe they were made days ahead of time. I'm so impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this the night before Thanksgiving and used russet potatoes instead of Yukon Gold. Otherwise, I made it exactly as described. I hesitated a bit because some people felt the sour cream was overwhelming and I had never made mashed potatoes with cream cheese and no milk. Also, though I like fluffy mashed potatoes, some people had felt they were much too stiff. I decided to I could always add milk before serving so I followed the recipe. Yes, the next morning, the sour cream taste was a bit overwhelming and they seemed too stiff but I decided to give it a chance and I was glad I did. After two hours on low in the crockpot. I checked them. I gave them a good stir and took a taste. Yes, they were a bit less "stiff" and the sour cream taste had mellowed quite a bit. Noting the condensation on the lid, I decided to just give them a good stir about every 30 minutes of the remaining time and sure enough, when the four hours was up, they were absolutely perfect! I had 13 people and these were devoured and raved about by everyone. Sometimes you simply have to uh... trust the directions and follow them exactly. I'm glad I did for if I would have cooked it for a shorter time or added more liquid, it would have been a mess I'm afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I read the other reviews before making this, and therefore lowered the amount of cream cheese I used - and it still turned out too "cream cheese" tasting. Not a huge hit at Thanksgiving, I wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This recipe is fabulous. I've been using one like it for years without the onion salt and sour cream. One thing I did especially like was from member Connie who said they could be frozen. That is great. I have a toddler grandson who is crazy about mashed potatoes with anything you want to put on them so it will be nice to have some on tap when he comes to visit. I've never thought they tasted left over at all and not sure what you do to them to make them taste that way. A wonderful taste as well as a timesaver. Using the crockpot is huge, too, because the oven is as full as a Best Buy store on Black Thursday, especially on Thanksgiving. Thanks for all the hints, allrecipes.com members!! You're included in the 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Readfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Have been using this recipe for years. Left overs of it tastes even better as flavours have a chance to blend in. I personally use fresh chopped onions and their greens to garnish the top. Only thing I might recommend about the recipe itself is the change in brand of potatoes since Yukon Gold's have a tendency to turn to mush after they are boiled; so you may want to consider adding a few extra to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Have used this recipe for many years at Christmas. I make it the day before and refrigerate. Just before baking I drizzle 1-4 cup of melted butter on top. This way I don't have to do anything Christmas day, just heat and open oven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is a great make ahead or freeze ahead recipe. I have also used French onion dip in place of the sour cream for a great change up. Love anything I can make in advance for holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States