Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
My whole family asks for these every Christmas gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Great! I have made this twice in the past month. Once heated in the slow cooker, and once in the oven. It worked well in the slow cooker, had great flavor, but turned out a little runny. The oven gave it a better texture. Followed the recipe pretty closely. Great for a crowd, 100 times better than just mashed potatoes w/ butter and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Easy to make. Reheated nicely when I took it for Thanksgiving. I thought it still needed a little butter and added maybe 1/2 a stick, despite the creaminess from the cream cheese and the "buttery" taste of the Yukon Golds.... but that's just my personal preference. My 9-yr old said they were the best potatoes she's ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I made these for Thanksgiving, and they were great! I used 4 Russet potatoes and 4 red potatoes, leaving the skins on. I added a few cloves of garlic, and used only 1 cream cheese package (the potatoes looked good after adding just 1). I also used 8 oz plain yogurt for the sour cream. I tried reheating in crockpot, but next time will cook in oven. Great leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Market, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These potatoes are awesome! I have been making them for several years at Thanksgiving. I have shared the recipe many times. This recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made these to contribute to Thanksgiving Dinner for 18. I enjoyed these -- No one else commented one way or the other. I am more of a traditionalist, and will stick to mashed potatoes with butter and milk. Also, no matter how I've made mashed potatoes for a crowd, they are always "Make-Ahead" -- either the day before or the morning of. This dish was flavorful, but not worth the additional cost or calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
These potatoes were great- I added some extra butter and salt, and everyone enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I added freshly roasted garlic and dried basil and subbed onion salt for onion powder and salt. My only issue was that the flavor of the cream cheese was very prevalent. I baked a small amount in the oven for today, but will do the rest in the crockpot for thanksgiving. Maybe the time heating will blend the flavos more. Next time I might try using a mix of goat cheese and italian cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choltz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I'll be making this for Thanksgiving, and it will make my life much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is the ONLY way I make and serve mashed potatoes when I feed a gang. I make it way ahead, then put it into the oven to heat through. The only addition I make is to add one diced sauteed white onion with a couple of cloves of minced garlic. OUT of this world! I've always rec'd requests for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States