Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Not a good alternative to traditional mashed potatoes. Although the flavor was very good, the consistency was FAR to thick. I also removed these from fridge 30 minutes prior and they were still cold in the middle after 40 minutes. I had to use the hand mixer to mix them and they required an additional 20 minutes. I probably should have added some chicken stock or additional liquid and mixed just before serving. The leftovers did make a great turkey shepards pie a couple days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The flavor was WONDERFUL! I made these the same day instead of the day before so they were slightly runny but the flavor was YUMMY! My family couldn't get enough! Could eat without the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I used yukons, didn't peel them, added chopped chives & I only used one pkg of cream cheese (actually I used nuefatchel). The taste of these was superb but they were quite a bit heavier the next day after being reheated. Not that I will let that keep me from making them again. ;o) I loved having them made up ahead of time...thanks Carol Evans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I've been making them once a year, every year since 2005. I just finished this year"s batch of what we have nicknamed "Evil Mashers". They are so darn good you can't stop eating them! Add a stick of butter as well. At this point, why not? LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Delicious! I made this the night before Thanksgiving day. The top of the potatoes puff up and turn a golden brown. A definite do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is delish. I never thought red potatoes could taste so good mashed. The best thing was you could make ahead, not peel the potatoes and they look beautiful and taste fantastic. I made them for Thanksgiving and will keep them in my recipe file and use them quite often. Thanks for the tip. Bernie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernie Theus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Easy and a great time saver! Used fat free or reduced fat and skim milk to reduce fat and calories...used the "onion/chive" cream cheese and omitted the onion powder as suggested by most reviews... I also left the skins on the potatoes for the extra vitamin boost...was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly. I was really looking forward to this recipe. The sour creme was to overpowering for me. I ended up throwing out the potatoes and rushing to make another batch of mashed potatoes with just butter and milk. I like sour cream but this was just a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intent

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I have to keep adding helpings of these potatoes every year at the Holiday table. Family and company love em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Excellent Recipe, Easy and can be made ahead of time. Especially nice during holiday cooking. No more standing over the stove trying to get the mash potatoes ready with a house full of company....more time to chat with friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States