Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe saved me! Was making an impromtu Thanksgiving dinner for my family...my parents were moving the next day and no one wanted to take the time to make the traditional meal...so I offered. I made this the night before, stuck it in the crockpot and refrigerated overnight. Then about 5 hours before we were to eat, I put it on low. By meal time the potatoes were perfect! Don't think anyone would have known the difference, if I hadn't told them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving and they really came out great. I followed the recipe with the exception that I did not put them in the oven. I put them in my crockpot, on low, for about four hours and they came out great. Like that I was able to do this ahead of time and it freed up some of my time to get other last minute things done...Will make them again at Christmas time! Thanks for sharing. Update: Made them for Christmas, used the crockpot as listed above, used red potatoes. The only change I made was I did not peel the potatoes and they turned out great and saved a lot of peeling time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLESF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I can't believe I have never rated this. I have been using it for years now. These are the most delicious and rich potatos, omygosh, I can't say enough! I have occasionally topped with crispy bacon bits... even more decadent. I am making them again for Thanksgiving. These are my absolute favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I always make these for Thanksgiving. Its great because it saves me a lot of time making them early!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Fabulous and what a time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSEWINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
it was great and worked wonderful in the crockpot. Cooked it long and the bottom got a light brown, which was a hit with my Mother in law. All around a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schwabengirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Really great recipe. I liked that I could make it the day before so all I had to do the next day was the turkey. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I use this All the time. People always rave how good they are. They save me tons of time, so that I may visit with my guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PittsburghBlonde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pleasant Hills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Very good! I have made enough to make for quite a few meals this week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
These potatoes were a hit with my family. They rated them a "10". I loved being able to make ahead and heat later. Thanks. We will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States