Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This recipe was great. Made it for Easter dinner and once around the table they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used bagged potatoes that I had on hand and then followed recipe for mixing. Instead of baking, I placed mashed potatoes into a crock pot since I planned to take them to a gathering on the same evening. As others recommended, I added a small anount of butter to fluff dish just before serving. Everyone loved these potatoes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Awesome! I added a few cloves of garlic to the boiling potatoes and mashed them in. I also added a few tablespoons of butter and used half n half instead of milk. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I found the potatoes were a little plain, but I loved that these were ready to go for Christmas dinner. I followed the advice of some other members and re-heated the potatoes in my slow cooker. This recipe was a real time and sanity saved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chasingafter3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe saved me! Was making an impromtu Thanksgiving dinner for my family...my parents were moving the next day and no one wanted to take the time to make the traditional meal...so I offered. I made this the night before, stuck it in the crockpot and refrigerated overnight. Then about 5 hours before we were to eat, I put it on low. By meal time the potatoes were perfect! Don't think anyone would have known the difference, if I hadn't told them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving and they really came out great. I followed the recipe with the exception that I did not put them in the oven. I put them in my crockpot, on low, for about four hours and they came out great. Like that I was able to do this ahead of time and it freed up some of my time to get other last minute things done...Will make them again at Christmas time! Thanks for sharing. Update: Made them for Christmas, used the crockpot as listed above, used red potatoes. The only change I made was I did not peel the potatoes and they turned out great and saved a lot of peeling time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLESF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I can't believe I have never rated this. I have been using it for years now. These are the most delicious and rich potatos, omygosh, I can't say enough! I have occasionally topped with crispy bacon bits... even more decadent. I am making them again for Thanksgiving. These are my absolute favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I always make these for Thanksgiving. Its great because it saves me a lot of time making them early!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Fabulous and what a time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSEWINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
it was great and worked wonderful in the crockpot. Cooked it long and the bottom got a light brown, which was a hit with my Mother in law. All around a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schwabengirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States