Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I really liked the taste of this dish. I agree that it is not the same is traditonal Sunday whipped potatoes, but is a great alternative when time is an issue. I made this for Christmas, and my whole family enjoyed it. I did add a bit of milk to them so they weren't quite so dense as I heated them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Yumm Yummm You can not imagine how godd this recipe is and You really can not go wrong with a recipe with this many reviews.. I have to say I was very nervous about making Mashed Potatoes the night bfore.. I just had a hard time imagining that they could possibly taste fresh the next day warmed up in the oven.. I had finished making my sweet potatoes and a little voice inside my head told me to go for it.. it was 2am and I had finished preparring everything else that I was going to bake in the morning. These potatoes were amazing !!! I added the whole 8oz package of cream cheese. PERFECT! Thank You for Sharing this Recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
excellent recipe try adding a pat or 2 of butter when putting in baking dish when you heat them up, the butter disperses thru the dish and a quick stir helps too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Not a good alternative to traditional mashed potatoes. Although the flavor was very good, the consistency was FAR to thick. I also removed these from fridge 30 minutes prior and they were still cold in the middle after 40 minutes. I had to use the hand mixer to mix them and they required an additional 20 minutes. I probably should have added some chicken stock or additional liquid and mixed just before serving. The leftovers did make a great turkey shepards pie a couple days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The flavor was WONDERFUL! I made these the same day instead of the day before so they were slightly runny but the flavor was YUMMY! My family couldn't get enough! Could eat without the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I used yukons, didn't peel them, added chopped chives & I only used one pkg of cream cheese (actually I used nuefatchel). The taste of these was superb but they were quite a bit heavier the next day after being reheated. Not that I will let that keep me from making them again. ;o) I loved having them made up ahead of time...thanks Carol Evans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I've been making them once a year, every year since 2005. I just finished this year"s batch of what we have nicknamed "Evil Mashers". They are so darn good you can't stop eating them! Add a stick of butter as well. At this point, why not? LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Delicious! I made this the night before Thanksgiving day. The top of the potatoes puff up and turn a golden brown. A definite do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is delish. I never thought red potatoes could taste so good mashed. The best thing was you could make ahead, not peel the potatoes and they look beautiful and taste fantastic. I made them for Thanksgiving and will keep them in my recipe file and use them quite often. Thanks for the tip. Bernie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Easy and a great time saver! Used fat free or reduced fat and skim milk to reduce fat and calories...used the "onion/chive" cream cheese and omitted the onion powder as suggested by most reviews... I also left the skins on the potatoes for the extra vitamin boost...was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States