Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These potatoes are awesome! I have been making them for several years at Thanksgiving. I have shared the recipe many times. This recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Made these to contribute to Thanksgiving Dinner for 18. I enjoyed these -- No one else commented one way or the other. I am more of a traditionalist, and will stick to mashed potatoes with butter and milk. Also, no matter how I've made mashed potatoes for a crowd, they are always "Make-Ahead" -- either the day before or the morning of. This dish was flavorful, but not worth the additional cost or calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
These potatoes were great- I added some extra butter and salt, and everyone enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I added freshly roasted garlic and dried basil and subbed onion salt for onion powder and salt. My only issue was that the flavor of the cream cheese was very prevalent. I baked a small amount in the oven for today, but will do the rest in the crockpot for thanksgiving. Maybe the time heating will blend the flavos more. Next time I might try using a mix of goat cheese and italian cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choltz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I'll be making this for Thanksgiving, and it will make my life much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is the ONLY way I make and serve mashed potatoes when I feed a gang. I make it way ahead, then put it into the oven to heat through. The only addition I make is to add one diced sauteed white onion with a couple of cloves of minced garlic. OUT of this world! I've always rec'd requests for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This recipe was great. Made it for Easter dinner and once around the table they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used bagged potatoes that I had on hand and then followed recipe for mixing. Instead of baking, I placed mashed potatoes into a crock pot since I planned to take them to a gathering on the same evening. As others recommended, I added a small anount of butter to fluff dish just before serving. Everyone loved these potatoes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Awesome! I added a few cloves of garlic to the boiling potatoes and mashed them in. I also added a few tablespoons of butter and used half n half instead of milk. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I found the potatoes were a little plain, but I loved that these were ready to go for Christmas dinner. I followed the advice of some other members and re-heated the potatoes in my slow cooker. This recipe was a real time and sanity saved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chasingafter3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States