Make Ahead Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Really good!! Love that the shells are easy to work with because you don't have to boil them first. Genious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I tripled the recipe and put two in the freezer so I got a "three-fer" for almost the same amount of work! The only thing I did differently was to leave out the salt and sugar, since most jarred spaghetti sauces contain plenty. I used Prego - their regular ol' flavor that comes in a Costco-sized jar - and the taste was just right for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I've tried this with manicotti shells and for making stuffed shells and prefer the stuffed shells but either way is delicious. I've used fresh grated Parmesan and the stuff from the can and it's great either way, I just use mozzarella on top if I'm using the canned stuff. I love making a double batch the night before we have company coming and so I can focus on other things the day people arrive and just pop this in the oven for dinner. Normally when I ask my husband what to make for dinner he'll say something along the lines of "I don't know, everything you make is good" but this is one dish he will consistantly request if it's been a while since I last made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Loved it! I made mine the night before then just popped it in the oven an hour before dinner. Super easy and very tasty. I took the advice of others and put the filling in a ziploc bag so I could pipe it into the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
So good. Although I didn't go by the recipe I still loved it. I went by other reviewers tips and cooked the shells first, stuffed shells and cooked right after adding everthing to the casserole dish. I was VERY pleased with the resaults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Loved this recipe.. Like others that tried it, agree with these of the Make Ahead Manicotti.. I made a double batch and used spinach in half.. Used home made sauce.. and a pastry bag to fill.. Easy.. Used the sugar but think I will omit it next time do to my sauce had a tad bit of sweet flavor already.. I used half of ricotta and half cottage cheese.. Taste was wonderful. I am going to serve some tonight and then freeze the rest.. Thanks for posting this..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Spend a little time making your own shells and it will go a very very very long way in improving your manicotti. get rid of the sugar its totally unecessary. If you have lots of time get a store bought sauce and a smaler piece of pork and simmer the sauce with the piece of pork in it for a few hours. Then you will have REAL MANICOTTI! Good quick version though, minus the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I make this frequently. Very good--freezes great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was just plain "OK." I think the amount of spinach is just fine if you like spinach like we do. The problem I found was that it is bland. I would maybe add some chopped garlic to the cheese mixture and perhaps some parsley too. A little more salt as well. With those changes in mind, I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spatula flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States