Make Ahead Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Recipe was easy, the sugar must have brought out the cheese flavor?? I used a combination of ricotta and cottage cheese and used only about 8 oz of spinach and more sauce. I also made a whole bunch of "make ahead" by stuffing the manicotti and kept them in the plastic tray that came with the manicotti and into ziplock bags. I left the make ahead stuff (without the tomato sauce) in the fridge overnight and then put them in the freezer. To rehead: take out the frozen manicotti and cover it in the tomato sauce the evening before to let it thraw and cook it according to the recipe direction, my husband and his family raved about it, even the kids ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Followed directions exactly. It was great will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
My husband loved this! It is very easy to prepare and has great flavor. Another reviewer had said that it could be frozen, so I did just that with half of the recipe and it tasted fine. Not great, but good enough when time is running thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This dish is very good and an excellent make ahead meal. I used one baking dish but poured spaghetti sauce on one side and alfredo sauce on the other side. My dinner guests liked both, but the alfredo sauce side was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
It was delicious! I used a sweet marinara sauce with it to compliment the sweetness of the manicotti. It has a very different taste which is refreshing. I used a zip lock bag to put the filling in which was much easier than any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I added a pound of ground beef to the filling and boiled the shells for 2 to 3 minutes. Next time I will take others advice and use more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Great recipe! I had enough filling to fill some extra shells. I wasn't too sure how they would freeze but decided to try it. They freeze beautifully! Next time I will double the filling mixture and freeze some shells to have on hand for even quicker prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
ohhh man... this was great! Made ahead on weekend and last night just baked! I actually had time to do other stuff when I got home! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Wonderful dish that will make company think you slaved in the kitchen! Even my carnivorous husband loved it. One tip- use a slender baby spoon to stuff the manicotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Wow, my whole family loved this. There were no leftover to be found. Using additional sauce did keep the shells from drying out. This is a keeper for us. So easy to make up on Sunday and then bake later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States