Make Ahead Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This recipe was definitely a hit with me and my family!! The prep was easy! I did follow the suggestion of a few other reviewers and used 2 jars of sauce, and I am glad that I did! One jar never would have covered it. I also ommitted the spinach and added 1 lb of lean browned ground beef as I am feeding two men that want their meat! They both loved it and this recipe has become a staple...I have to make it at least twice a month!! Thanks for the recipe and all the great suggestions from the other reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hayes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Easy and so good! You definitely need 2 jars of sauce (don't try using pizza sauce) and less spinach. Thanks for the great idea Sandir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Tremendous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I really liked this & so did my Mother in law. My husband did not like as much & says to stick with the stuffed shells recipe that I got from this website. Next time I make, I will use more sauce as 1 jar didn't seem to be enough, reduce the ricotta, add more motzarella & bake for a little less time. That may make it more cheesy & more saucy. Overall I really did like this dish & would make again! My husband is not a big Italian fan. He said this seeemed like a dish you would get in a restaraunt, I see this as a compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This is a great time saving recipe. I don't like cooked spinach that much and I LOVE this recipe! Here are my "tweaks" to offer: 1) I add crumbled and browned italian sausage (turkey or pork) to the mix to make it more substantial since my guy likes to have meat on the table! 2) I definitely think it needs the extra sauce. I use 1.5 jars. Using the jumbo pasta shells makes this the simplest recipe ever. I usually make this on Sunday night when making Sunday dinner so that Monday night's dinner is a no-brainer!! Oh -- thanks to my bookclub friend Misty for passing this along!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I was in a rush, so I cooked the shells and tried to stuff. Stupid idea because I made a mess! Also added italian sausage and my family really enjoyed it. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I loved this recipe! It takes just a few minutes to prepare and stuff the shells and best of all it doesn't create a huge mess in the kitchen if you do it before bed like I did. Like another person said, I would add more sauce as it cooks because the noodles on the outside got a bit tough. It called for 12 shells and I used the entire package as there were only a few more than 12 and I had plenty of the cheese mixture. For those not so fond of spinach, like my husband, he recommends using half the spinach or better yet none. He thought it would have been good with just the cheese mixture and then adding ground beef to the sauce. So next time I make this, I might split the cheese mixture in half and use spinach only on my half. I could make 2 dishes with half spinach and half plain cheese and try freezing one. This is also a great dish if you need to deliver a meal to someone in snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpmcminn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I made this recipe in large quantities and it turned out very well. I gave it 4 *'s because like other reviewers, I thought it needed more sauce (which I added). I froze it before baking, and next time I would add even more sauce towards the end of the baking time because the top of the shells got hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was sooooo good! Really easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States