Make Ahead Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was good, but a little dry. I always make my manicotti or lasagna with raw pasta, it just seems to save that step. I would mkae again, but add more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This recipe was excellent. My family enjoyed it and are asking for it again. There were very few leftovers that were devoured the next day! I made the manicotti the day before, sprinkled the parmesan on it and popped it in the oven. Quick and easy for a busy week night. Thanks for the yummy recipe. I will make it again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I love spinach, but my son and husband do not, so I made half with spinach, and half with ground beef. I cooked a pound of ground beef. When I made the filling, I split it in half. I put in half the cooked beef in one half of the filling, and put in half the spinach called for in the recipe in the other half. I put the remainder of the cooked beef in the sauce. I used more cheese than called for in the recipe, and also used 2 jars of sauce as others had suggested. To fill the tubes, I put the fillings in the plastic bags, which worked well - be sure to cut only a small hole in the corner. I enjoyed making this in the morning, then only having to pop it in the oven in the evening. Served with a green salad and garlic bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
The first time I made this.. it was perfect. The second time I decided to change things around a little (added more spinich, cheese, etc.) and it turned out just okay. A little time consuming.. but worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Excellent! I've served it for multiple crowds and it always get good reviews. I like it because it can be made ahead of time so the work and the mess is done before your guests show up. It also freezes well but be prepared, as it takes about twice as long to cook when frozen. My tweaks include: using 2 jars of sauce, not quite as much spinach, added mushrooms (canned or fresh), and lighten up with skim ricotta, egg substitute and reduced fat mozarella. In a pinch I've used shells rather than manicotti tubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShortCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This recipe was definitely a hit with me and my family!! The prep was easy! I did follow the suggestion of a few other reviewers and used 2 jars of sauce, and I am glad that I did! One jar never would have covered it. I also ommitted the spinach and added 1 lb of lean browned ground beef as I am feeding two men that want their meat! They both loved it and this recipe has become a staple...I have to make it at least twice a month!! Thanks for the recipe and all the great suggestions from the other reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hayes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Easy and so good! You definitely need 2 jars of sauce (don't try using pizza sauce) and less spinach. Thanks for the great idea Sandir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Tremendous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I really liked this & so did my Mother in law. My husband did not like as much & says to stick with the stuffed shells recipe that I got from this website. Next time I make, I will use more sauce as 1 jar didn't seem to be enough, reduce the ricotta, add more motzarella & bake for a little less time. That may make it more cheesy & more saucy. Overall I really did like this dish & would make again! My husband is not a big Italian fan. He said this seeemed like a dish you would get in a restaraunt, I see this as a compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This is a great time saving recipe. I don't like cooked spinach that much and I LOVE this recipe! Here are my "tweaks" to offer: 1) I add crumbled and browned italian sausage (turkey or pork) to the mix to make it more substantial since my guy likes to have meat on the table! 2) I definitely think it needs the extra sauce. I use 1.5 jars. Using the jumbo pasta shells makes this the simplest recipe ever. I usually make this on Sunday night when making Sunday dinner so that Monday night's dinner is a no-brainer!! Oh -- thanks to my bookclub friend Misty for passing this along!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States