Make Ahead Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This didn't work out for me. I think my mistake was that I used a sweet basil sauce and that, coupled with the sugar, made for a too sweet dish. The noodles didn't cook well either--they turned out a bit gummy (the sauce covered the noodles well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dagwood17

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This recipe was wonderful! The only reason why I did not give it 5 stars is because I did have to add some things to the sauce to make sure it stayed "saucy" enough after cooking. I used 1 jar spaghetti sauce, 1 small can tomato paste, 1 can diced tomatoes with the juice. This made for perfectly cooked noodles, and plenty of sauce left after cooking. I left out the spinach, added the entire 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese to the mixture and put mozzarella cheese on top instead of the Parmesan. My family LOVED this! This is a keeper, and will be made again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I have made this twice so far and received rave reviews each time! I added a little more sauce than called for and used two different kinds in one dish: four cheese and garlic. I also added about 1 extra cup of mozzarella. We are cheese lovers over here! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very yummy. I added a bit of water to my sauce before pouring onto the noodles, and did not have any problems with it drying out. So much easier than making manicotti with cooked noodles...I'll never do it that way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEANNA
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was very good but needed more sauce. Tended to be dry after baked. Will make again only use more sauce next time. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Truro, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is a keeper recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except threw in some extra cottage cheese that I needed to use up and it turned out fabulous. I doubled up the ingredients so I could freeze some for later. Put them on a cookie sheet to allow them to freeze and then put them into gallon bags so I could pull out what I needed for that specific occasion. Great way to get your kids to eat vegis too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I made this for my boyfriend's family (all 10 of us) so I had to double the recipe... They aren't huge eaters but we barely had enough... if you want to make this for a large group plan for 2 1/2 times the normal amount! Other then that, everyone LOVED it! I did take the other user's advice and cut back a little on the spiniach and then went overboard on the sauce (a good thing to do). It really was such a simple recipe that looked and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Very easy. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is the most ingenious recipe. I always hated how manicotti got really watery after baking if I boiled the noodles first. Not only are the uncooked noodles easier to pipe into, they hold up after baking. The refrigeration allows the flavors to meld, and gives a finished restaurant quality product. My husband and I are vegetarian, so we add morningstar crumbles to the sauce before baking and this makes for a hearty dish that please both veggies and non-veggies alike. The spinach mixture would make an excellent lasagna as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BetteDavisLies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was awesome and really easy! I consider myself and intermediate cooker and this was wonderful! My husband loved it also and neither of us eat spinach. (We used it though) He thinks he has to have meat in everything too. I used meat flavored Ragu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States