Make Ahead Lunch Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I just love the idea of this. You could make these with any combination of ingredients that appeals to you and always have a great, healthy, and filling lunch or snack on hand in the freezer. The other night I bought a grocery store rotisserie chicken and made rice and beans as just a regular weeknight dinner. I took all the leftovers, wrapped them up in tortillas, then wrapped those in aluminum foil lined with a paper towel, stuck them in a labeled freezer bag with the date, and put them in the freezer. If I know I don't have anything to take for lunch I put one in the fridge at night and the next day they are good to go. I bring it to work, remove the foil, and microwave them in the paper towel. You could put whatever kinds of leftovers you have practically. The hardest part is not overfilling your wrap and perfecting the wrapping technique. I also put my scrambled eggs in a wrap a lot, but I don't freeze those! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Great recipe. The flavor was fantastic. I followed a lot of suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I gave this 4 stars based on the fact that I also made a few changes after reading reviews. I sauteed an onion in olive olive and then added the rice and used chicken broth to cook. I like the flavor that the broth adds. After the rice was cooked I added taco seasoning to it. The rest of the recipe I followed. I cut the recipe in half and I did get 10 wraps and they are very generous sized. Now it's a 5 star recipe. Yum! Who says that you can only eat them for lunch? Made a great dinner the first day and the rest went in the freezer for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
i halved the recipe and added cilantro and a little garlic salt. the cheese i used was 3 pepper cheese and i used corn with red and green peppers in it. i used whole wheat tortillas. oh, and i also added half a packet of taco seasoning to the rice. i guess i changed a few things, but that being said, this is an awesome recipe. i am actually craving it considering its pretty healthy! definitely try this one! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
All I can say is YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Awesome base recipe!! I modified it (of course), but fantastic, exactly what I was looking for to make ahead and take to work!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBERLYNNE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Oh my gooooooooodness this is such a simple, easy wonderful idea for lunch !!!!!!!!! I did halve the recipe, I used 2 cans of black beans, 1 can pinto, 1 10oz can ro-tel diced tomatoes with green chilies, and used 2 cups cooked brown rice and one 15 oz can of corn. Dumped the beans and corn in the strainer, rinsed and after all the liquid drained dumped it into a large bowl then mixed in the rice. I put a few dashes of salt and pepper in this mixture. Mixed and then decided some meat would be good, so I cooked up a pound of ground beef with taco seasoning. Laid out the large flour tortilla shells, spooned the bean and rice mixture, a heaping tablespoon of the ground beef then sprinkled the pepper jack cheese. This is the best lunch on the go you can have. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I changed the servings number to 16 (from the original recipe) I got 27 wraps out of this, and if I had more tortillas I could get at least 3 more. I think next time I will add taco seasoning or something, but they are very good and easy to make. I love being able to pull them out of the freezer and throw them in my bag for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I think these are just fabulous. I didn't change a thing and I'm ready to make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Savage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Its good but its missing flavor in the the burrito. I'll play with it and find what it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BerniceV.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States