Make Ahead Lunch Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Wonderful! I can't use canned items due to high sodium content, so I had to use home made beans, fresh tomatoes & chillies and frozen corn; My black beans are still simmering - haven't even added them yet, but everything was mixed and prepared and I simply couldn't resist trying one. I'm microwave illiterate, so not quite sure about how to go about heating up a frozen one, but will browse comments in hopes someone else went into more detail. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
5 stars because its pretty easy once you get the brown rice cooked. i cooked my brown rice in chicken stock and added taco seasoning. i also used salsa in place of tomatoes and cheddar jack cheese. also whole wheat tortillas easy good and its gonna save me lunch money tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
some of the family loved them,some didn't.if you have ever tried lean cuisines santa fe style rice and beans this tastes exactly like it.i would make again but only make a half batch and just eat it plain with a flour tortilla on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was that I made changes based on the other reviews. I added taco seasoning to the rice. I added extra tomatoes and corn. They are GREAT for packing in a lunch...just grab it out of the freezer, then at lunch time microwave it for 2 or 3 minutes. Also good with sour cream and salsa for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
These were easy enough to make. The flavor could benefit from the addition of some cumin or cilantro, maybe both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea_baldwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This is a great filling. I reduced sodium by cooking dried beans, using frozen corn, using fresh tomatoes and tomatillos instead of canned, and stuffing pita bread instead of tortillas. Still very easy to put together. The pepperjack adds a nice zip. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is a really good basic recipe. I didn't have an onion or bell peppers on hand, so I couldn't follow the recommendations that people included; I'm sure if I had, this would be a 5 star recipe! I'm just glad for the convenience of a healthy and easy-to-prepare meal, easily frozen for later. Note to self: 1 cup uncooked rice does NOT equal 1 cup cooked rice! I ended up with not enough rice because I thought it would be the same. 2 cups uncooked rice yields about 6 cups cooked rice. I did feel that the filling could have used some more rice, but that's because I accidentally left out about 4 cups' worth! Only worry is that I felt like the cheese was just good enough; if I added more rice, I'm not sure it would have been. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These are good to have in the freezer, ready to go. I only used 3 cans of beans and it's enough. Also used white rice. It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Absolutely Delicious! Very easy and healthy meal. Looking at the other reviews I did add taco seasoning. Also instead of diced tomatoes I used hot chunky salsa. My husband and I like spicy things he also put a little hot sauce on his. Excellent. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This is such a great idea! I made a few changes to suit my tastes and make it even healthier. But I was very impressed with how well they freeze and reheat! Super convenient for lunch! I've had one each day this week so far! I used less cheese, Quinoa instead of rice (and less of it), added jalepeno peppers, onions, and used salsa instead of tomatoes. I found "extreme wellness wraps" which are tortillas high in protien and low in carbs. I also used fresh cilantro, and serve them with a dollop of non-fat greek yogurt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States