Make Ahead Lunch Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Wonderful recipe. Like most, I changed it to suit my tastes. I left out the rice because the dish has enough carbs. I made 1/2 recipe and only used two cans of beans and added a can of refried beans, onion, garlic, trio of sweet peppers, cumin, chili powder and cayenne. The tomatoes were salsa spiced and the refried beans were green chile with lime, no fat. The refried beans added a nice lime flavor that complimented the dish and also thickened and added that binding of ingredients (I also smashed some of the beans with a flat wooden spoon to increase this effect). Corn was recently on sale and I cooked the ears and cut the corn off the cob, it is so flavorful and sweet. The trio of peppers added a little more color to an already colorful dish. I will make this over and over! Thanks for the recipe and for those who shared their changes or additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Wonderful! I can't use canned items due to high sodium content, so I had to use home made beans, fresh tomatoes & chillies and frozen corn; My black beans are still simmering - haven't even added them yet, but everything was mixed and prepared and I simply couldn't resist trying one. I'm microwave illiterate, so not quite sure about how to go about heating up a frozen one, but will browse comments in hopes someone else went into more detail. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
5 stars because its pretty easy once you get the brown rice cooked. i cooked my brown rice in chicken stock and added taco seasoning. i also used salsa in place of tomatoes and cheddar jack cheese. also whole wheat tortillas easy good and its gonna save me lunch money tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
some of the family loved them,some didn't.if you have ever tried lean cuisines santa fe style rice and beans this tastes exactly like it.i would make again but only make a half batch and just eat it plain with a flour tortilla on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was that I made changes based on the other reviews. I added taco seasoning to the rice. I added extra tomatoes and corn. They are GREAT for packing in a lunch...just grab it out of the freezer, then at lunch time microwave it for 2 or 3 minutes. Also good with sour cream and salsa for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
These were easy enough to make. The flavor could benefit from the addition of some cumin or cilantro, maybe both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea_baldwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This is a great filling. I reduced sodium by cooking dried beans, using frozen corn, using fresh tomatoes and tomatillos instead of canned, and stuffing pita bread instead of tortillas. Still very easy to put together. The pepperjack adds a nice zip. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is a really good basic recipe. I didn't have an onion or bell peppers on hand, so I couldn't follow the recommendations that people included; I'm sure if I had, this would be a 5 star recipe! I'm just glad for the convenience of a healthy and easy-to-prepare meal, easily frozen for later. Note to self: 1 cup uncooked rice does NOT equal 1 cup cooked rice! I ended up with not enough rice because I thought it would be the same. 2 cups uncooked rice yields about 6 cups cooked rice. I did feel that the filling could have used some more rice, but that's because I accidentally left out about 4 cups' worth! Only worry is that I felt like the cheese was just good enough; if I added more rice, I'm not sure it would have been. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These are good to have in the freezer, ready to go. I only used 3 cans of beans and it's enough. Also used white rice. It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Absolutely Delicious! Very easy and healthy meal. Looking at the other reviews I did add taco seasoning. Also instead of diced tomatoes I used hot chunky salsa. My husband and I like spicy things he also put a little hot sauce on his. Excellent. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States