Make-Ahead Hot Buttered Rum Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Yum. Very warming and relaxing. I used dried orange peel and it was fine. Pumpkin Pie spice really varies so I left it out of my first batch and experimented with the first cup. I actually prefer just nutmeg and thought cinnamon took over. The spice mix would definitely be personal taste. I divided the butter brown sugar mix onto wax paper and got 12 instead of 10 so I must have not rounded my tablespoons as much. This still tasted great in a full size mug. I may try a small amount of leftover commercial eggnog in my next cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I loved it! Years ago I had this in the mountains at a Lake Tahoe bar. It is great on the cold Nebraska nights. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Gibilisco
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Would not change a thing. Hubby's on his second as we speak. It's snowing right now and where we live that is very rare...last time was February 2001. Perfect time to try this recipe out and very glad I did...will be my go-to for the holidays from now on. Thanks Spicegirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
As others have mentioned, adding more spice (1 tsp)made a huge difference. LOVED it! Fantastic with fresh grated nutmeg on top. Will be keeping this in the fridge for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe! I was thrilled to find this as an alternative to the "add ice cream" recipes. I didn't have orange peel and used a couple drops of orange extract instead--worked perfecly--or so says my husband (self proclaimed Hot Buttered Rum Expert)! Yummy--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Finally a hot butttered rum mix recipe made without ice cream! This was really tasty and I liked the addition of the orange zest. We served this delicious drink with some Italian ammareti cookies. Me and my brother made it with hot coffee and my mom made it with rum and boiling water. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Not good....bland and boring. I will stick to the ice cream version....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Finally, one without ice cream! I loved it with a spice tea (aka Russian or Friendship)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mineral, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I just made this and it's lovely. I didn't add the orange peel, so I think I will definitely do that next time. I also didn't have any rum, but it's pretty delicious by itself. :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Fantastic!! LOVED the orange in it. Substituted cinnamon for the punpkin spice. Thanks for such a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States