Make-Ahead Hot Buttered Rum Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Very tasty. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I substituted 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp ground ginger and 1/16 tsp each nutmeg and ground cloves. I omitted ground orange peel. I used Captain Morgan's spiced rum in mine---very yummy. Also, the kids enjoyed the mix made with hot water only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Very, Very good. Prefer this over the overly heavy ice cream types. Doubled the spices and orange peel, with great success too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Made a plastic container of this. Keep it in my fridge for instant hot buttered rums. SO GOOD! Perfect for Minnesota evenings. Thanks! Time to replenish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Love the orange peel in this recipe. I added a heaping tablespoon of vanilla ice cream and it is now perfection in a cup. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was wonderful. I didn't expect much without the ice cream, but what an after dinner treat it was. I didn't have any oranges, so I left out the orange peel. Very easy and worth it. I used vanilla rum to add the extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I just made this and it's lovely. I didn't add the orange peel, so I think I will definitely do that next time. I also didn't have any rum, but it's pretty delicious by itself. :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Fantastic!! LOVED the orange in it. Substituted cinnamon for the punpkin spice. Thanks for such a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe! I was thrilled to find this as an alternative to the "add ice cream" recipes. I didn't have orange peel and used a couple drops of orange extract instead--worked perfecly--or so says my husband (self proclaimed Hot Buttered Rum Expert)! Yummy--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Great to take camping. Big hit around the campfire on those cool mornings and evenings. Orange peel makes it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncanville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
As others have mentioned, adding more spice (1 tsp)made a huge difference. LOVED it! Fantastic with fresh grated nutmeg on top. Will be keeping this in the fridge for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States