Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was great. Served it for family staying w/ us over the holidays. Just be sure to grease the pan really well so it doesn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very yummy! I found the liquid and topping to be enough for TWO pans of bread, though (with half a loaf of french bread in each pan - thick slices in a single layer, otherwise bottom layers don't get topping, which is the best part). I can't even imagine how soggy on the bottom and sweet on the top it would be to use only half a loaf of bread. I made this for christmas morning breakfast and would definitely make again. I think, because it's so sweet, it would be ideal as just part of a brunch spread, as opposed to the only thing on the table. But so good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NEWHALL94
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent and so simple to make. We make this every year for Christmas breakfast, it's nice to have a yummy breakfast and not spend hours in the kitchen missing all the Christmas fun. I add a little extra egg mixture into the pan the night before and the bread soaks it right up, gives it a little more flavor, is moist on the inside and has a nice candy like coating on the outside once it's baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! Someone wrote a review for this stating they made their own bread using the Amish White Bread recipe, so I decided to give that a try. Thick, hearty slices were used. 12 or 13 of them, cut diagonally and layered. Mix was 1/2 cup whole milk, 5 eggs, 1 cup half and half, the vanilla and some cinnamon. Dipped and dunked bread, spread it out in cooking-sprayed 9x13 pan. There was maybe 1/4 cup of mix left that I drizzled over. Baked for about 50 minutes, it was fantastic. I agree that it's not like traditional French toast but it's delicious. You need to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. We usually fix it for Christmas morning breakfast. One thing that I change is I like to use a bakery loaf of cinnamon bread rather than the French bread. The touch of cinnamon goes so well with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Worked out wonderfully! I used a bit less milk, and cooked about 50 min. Also added cinnamon, as a personal preferance. The pecans are a must. Baking them with the sugar mixture takes the dish to a whole new level. Even our picky eaters had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is super easy, yummy. Everyone loves it! I usually have a half with the nuts and half without, for the picky eaters in our group. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This recipe is FANTASTIC! Not sure WHAT other reviewers are talking about that it's just "so soggy?" Try BAKING IT LONGER. Mine were in the oven for 1 HOUR 15 MINUTES. Came out crispy and delicious. Also, if still soggy try spreading them out on a cookie sheet and turning halfway through. I didn't make mine the night before (I forgot...go figure!), but instead just dipped my 1 inch French Bread "sticks" in the mixture flipping a few pieces around in it at a time for about 10 seconds(perfect amount of dipping mixture for 1 whole loaf of French Bread...I followed ingredient amounts exactly), and since I was doing French Toast Sticks, I placed them on a cookie sheet, added sugar/butter mixture minus the pecans, and immediately baked them. I ended up baking mine for 1 HOUR 15 MINUTES on a COOKIE SHEET lined with parchment paper/lightly sprayed with non-stick spray = NO sticking, and crisp French Toast - VERY TRAVEL FRIENDLY. Add a sprinkle of cinnamon on the tops of the toast before placing in the oven. Also, be sure to use SALTED BUTTER....it will not be too sweet! DELICIOUS!! Thank you Debbie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Was a bit too sweet even for my kids......I would say more egg less milk cinnamon, nutmeg needed and less sugar more maple syrup.....sorry not too impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
My family LOVES this french toast. I did make 1 change. I used the thick Texas Toast and did not cut it up. So easy, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States