Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
The pictures shown do not do this recipe justice. The only modification I made was to add 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon to the egg mixture. This recipe is SO YUMMY! Did I mention...THIS RECIPE IS SO YUMMY AND SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Very good, and easy! You do need to make two pans though for the egg mixture, do not just dump it all onto the bread. I doubled the bread, dipped it in the egg mix, then I spread the remaining over the bread. Turned out really good, moist but not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Becker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
YUM!!!!!! & EASY Who could ask for more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Made it for Easter brunch & it was a hit. I made a few modifications: 1) reduced half & half to 1/2 cup, not 1 cup 2) reduced brown sugar to 3/4 cup. It was still very sweet .... next time I'll reduce it to 2/3 cup. 3) I did not dip the bread slices, instead I poured the egg mixture over the bread. 4) I did spray the pan with PAM before adding the bread and I did flip the bread the before baking. I did not have problems with sticking. I prepared this at 7:00 pm, but wasn't planning to bake until noon the next day. I was concerned it would be too long, but it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
We bought a big loaf instead of a baguette so I ended up cutting the french bread into 1-inch pieces. We dipped them in the milk/egg mixture, refrigerated it overnight...the next morning, added 2/3 cup of remaining milk/egg mixture and baked at 300 for 75 minutes (while we were at church). When we got home, I melted 3/4 of a stick of unsalted butter, 1 cup of brown sugar, 1t cinnamon, 2T corn syrup and topped the baked bread mixture with it and chopped pecans. Baked it at 350 for another 20 minutes and it was DELICIOUS!!! My sister and I have vowed that this dish will be at every family gathering! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
so disappointed with this recipe. made it for the first time today hoping for a nice Easter breakfast and the middle of the bread slices were soggy (despite 40 min in the over) and had little to no flavor. should have know when I had so much extra egg batter and nut mixture. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsF412

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
LOVED this one! It got rave reviews at our house. I lightened it a little by omitting the cream and then using 2 cups whole milk instead of the 1 1/2c 2%milk. I also added some cinnamon to the egg mixture, and poured the leftover mixture over the entire pan of bread after "dipping." Greased the pan with butter, as others suggested. Used 1/3c butter and 3/4c sugar for the topping, and still found it plenty sweet. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Followed this exactly and will make it again. Wasn't sure if I should stack the bread but that's the only way it would all fit. I used real maple syrup. Absolutely YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is really delicious! I used Sarah Lee Texas Toast and followed tips from DivineHealth on spices. I used fat free milk and half & half, and used all the eggs in the original recipe. I sprayed the baking pan with Crisco Butter spray, and lifted the slices in the morning to spray the pan again before baking. It was delicious and decadent! My family loved it and it will become a regular for Christmas brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalAngel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
It tasted good, but not fabulous. Would like to find one that I like better. Maybe one with a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Teach Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States