Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Use only 1/2 cup milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was much too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Made it for Christmas brunch for five guests. I used Challah bread with raisins so passed on the pecans.Tonight I'm using the same bread but without raisins, so plan to add the pecans. Morning can't come quick enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Delicious! I did not have maple syrup or pecans but it was still amazing! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
My family loved it...but I thought it was a little bland. I'll play around with the recipe next time, but overall it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel_In_NC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was a great recipe. It was my first attempt at french toast. I left out the pecans and used the butter layer in the pan to prevent sticking as one reviewer suggested. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
After reading the review which said, "nowhere in the recipe does it say to pour the remaining liquid into the pan", I thought, 'Well, right, how could it get soggy if you are just dipping the bread in it?' So, I made this for our Christmas brunch. I did decrease the milk to 1/2 cup because Debbie (who submitted the recipe) said to do that if you wanted your dish more firm. It turned out fantastic! So tasty and everybody raved about it. Even my husband, who is very particular about his French toast, told me, 'thank you for making this, it is just what I wanted.' I even cooked it in the oven on convection with 3 other dishes and it still was not mushy when eaten.definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Flavor was great. Based on reviews I wasn't quite sure if I should add all the remaining egg liquid after soaking the bread or not so I added half of it. I used a french loaf that was a day old and soaked the pieces for about 30 sec before adding to the pan. This didn't seem to be good enough even adding the half of the egg mix over the top. Some of the bread wasn't soaked through even after over night so was a little dry when cooked. But, I did use 1 cup milk and 1 cup heavy whipping cream so maybe the thickness of the cream kept it from absorbing through. I only used 4 eggs too since there was so much liquid that couldn't possibly be used for the loaf (which I used more than half of). Sprinkled some cinnamon on top before baking too. 1/3 c. butter and 3/4 c. brown sugar with the syrup with the pecans was plenty sweet for us. 40 min was perfect timing for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made this for Christmas morning today it was AMAZING!!cooked it a little longer and was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Love this recipe!! It has been a tradition for the last 7 or so years to have every Christmas morning with scrambled eggs, apple sausages, bacon and fruit on the French toast with whipped cream and, of course, mimosas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States