Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I was skeptical about making this recipe because of the mixed reviews, but I decided to try it and boy am I glad I did. One tip to help eliminate sticking: Get a cold stick of butter and press it into to bottom and sides of your baking dish, making a slightly thick layer of butter. THEN put the bread and mixture in. In the morning, use a flexible spatula and gently insert it underneath the bread to pull it away from the pan. This should definitely minimize any sticking. I always bake my own bread (Amish White Bread submitted by Peg on this site). I then cut it into 1.5 to 1.75 inch thick slices to ensure that all the mixture is absorbed, so make sure you use THICK BREAD. I then cut each slice into four and make French Toast Sticks so that they can be eaten on the run (in the car, at a bus stop, etc). They reheat very well. The recipe I use is as follows: 3 eggs, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup cream, 1t Vanilla extract, 1.5t cinnamon, 1T powdered sugar, 3/4 loaf bread. I beat these ingredients well with a mixer.I top it with a heated mixture of 5T butter, 1.5T syrup, and 1/5 cup brown sugar. Don't be dismayed by negative reviews. This recipe CAN and DOES turn out great every time. Follow it as stated in the recipe, and then tweak it like I did until you find what works best for you and your family. This is a staple in our house now. Bake time of 40 minutes is usually dead on (sometimes I go an extra 5 minutes or so). Moist (NOT soggy), tasty, and (if you make sticks) travel friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
I decided to give this recipe a second chance with some modifications to make it a much firmer recipe. I took my loaf of French bread and split it down the middle lengthwise and then cut it into 1 inch slices. I omitted the half-and-half, used three eggs and halved the remaining ingredients. All ingredients (except for the topping) went into a big bowl and I mixed them up until all the liquid was soaked up. After spraying the casserole dish with a cooking spray, the bread was placed in a single layer and the topping was placed on top. I only cooked the dish for about 30 minutes. It made about 5 servings this way. Using this method the recipe is more like sticky rolls than French toast. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
My husband is LOVING this dish! He is saying "mmmmm 5, mmmmmmm 5"! Since there are only three of us here today I pulled 6 pieces of Texas Toast out of the freezer. I sprayed the glass pan with Pam, whipped up the egg mixture with 1/2 cup of half and half and 1 cup of milk only. I just put the toast, whole, in the pan. This way, there were two whole pieces for each of us. After placing the dunked pieces in the pan, I sprinkled cinnamon over top. Then I poured the remaining egg mixture over top. This morning, when I pulled the dish out of the fridge it appeared that all of the egg mixture had been absorbed. By the way, I had only put chopped pecans over two pieces of the toast, since hubby is the only one that likes them for breakfast. I didn't have maple syrup so I just used some Aunt Jemima Butter Lite. I baked this for right at 40 minutes and my oven runs hot, so if you have a new oven you might need to go 45 - 50 minutes. As for the finished product, hubby loves it. Naturally, the edges of the toast got done faster than the middle. I think it is crucial to let this sit for the 5 minutes after bake time. I wonder if cutting the amount of butter down a bit would help? It was just a tad soggier in the middle, but overall, this is a wonderful recipe! Next time I will sprinkle powdered sugar over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This made our Christmas morning...it was the perfect breakfast to celebrate the holiday. I used day old french bread from a local bakery and I took other reviewers advice and cut down on the milk to a 1/2 cup. I also added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the egg wash and used pure maple syrup to top it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I make this regularly, recipe compliments of Rhona and Leo Lococco of Lococco House B&B in St. Charles, MO - what brings it to life for me is 1 tblsp of concentrated OJ in lieu of the vanilla. MMM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
i'm wondering if debbie intended to write that we should cut the french bread in 1 inch SLICES and not cubes. anyway, that's what i did. u definitely need to lightly grease the pan. i thought i could get away with just laying foil in the pan, but it ended up becoming a second skin and took forever to peel off. won't be making that mistake again. i only had 1/2 cup of pecan chips, so that's all i used, but it really was more than enough. i doubt i'll be using 1 cup when i make this again. we're fasting during this month of ramadan and i made this for my hubby and myself for our pre-dawn meal. it was worth getting up early for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I was so worried that I would have soggy results, and I almost lost sleep over it, but woke up the next morning, made the sauce, and threw it in the oven... and it came out perfectly... (well one peice of toast stuck to the dish) served it to to a house full of visitors and they all raved... thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julesevilhr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King City, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
My family really enjoyed this recipe on Thanksgiving morning, and I enjoyed not having to spend time cooking breakfast. Those who do not care for nuts did not care for this though. It was not soggy at all which I really liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This is delicious! My four kids and hubby loved it. I made it for their first day of school, and it started their day our wonderfully. I did add cinnamon to the egg mixture, as I love it. Then I sprinkled a little on the bread before refrigerating it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was perfect... My family LOVED it. I can't wait to make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States