Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Made it for Easter brunch & it was a hit. I made a few modifications: 1) reduced half & half to 1/2 cup, not 1 cup 2) reduced brown sugar to 3/4 cup. It was still very sweet .... next time I'll reduce it to 2/3 cup. 3) I did not dip the bread slices, instead I poured the egg mixture over the bread. 4) I did spray the pan with PAM before adding the bread and I did flip the bread the before baking. I did not have problems with sticking. I prepared this at 7:00 pm, but wasn't planning to bake until noon the next day. I was concerned it would be too long, but it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
We bought a big loaf instead of a baguette so I ended up cutting the french bread into 1-inch pieces. We dipped them in the milk/egg mixture, refrigerated it overnight...the next morning, added 2/3 cup of remaining milk/egg mixture and baked at 300 for 75 minutes (while we were at church). When we got home, I melted 3/4 of a stick of unsalted butter, 1 cup of brown sugar, 1t cinnamon, 2T corn syrup and topped the baked bread mixture with it and chopped pecans. Baked it at 350 for another 20 minutes and it was DELICIOUS!!! My sister and I have vowed that this dish will be at every family gathering! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
so disappointed with this recipe. made it for the first time today hoping for a nice Easter breakfast and the middle of the bread slices were soggy (despite 40 min in the over) and had little to no flavor. should have know when I had so much extra egg batter and nut mixture. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsF412

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
LOVED this one! It got rave reviews at our house. I lightened it a little by omitting the cream and then using 2 cups whole milk instead of the 1 1/2c 2%milk. I also added some cinnamon to the egg mixture, and poured the leftover mixture over the entire pan of bread after "dipping." Greased the pan with butter, as others suggested. Used 1/3c butter and 3/4c sugar for the topping, and still found it plenty sweet. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Followed this exactly and will make it again. Wasn't sure if I should stack the bread but that's the only way it would all fit. I used real maple syrup. Absolutely YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is really delicious! I used Sarah Lee Texas Toast and followed tips from DivineHealth on spices. I used fat free milk and half & half, and used all the eggs in the original recipe. I sprayed the baking pan with Crisco Butter spray, and lifted the slices in the morning to spray the pan again before baking. It was delicious and decadent! My family loved it and it will become a regular for Christmas brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalAngel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
It tasted good, but not fabulous. Would like to find one that I like better. Maybe one with a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Teach Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was great. Served it for family staying w/ us over the holidays. Just be sure to grease the pan really well so it doesn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very yummy! I found the liquid and topping to be enough for TWO pans of bread, though (with half a loaf of french bread in each pan - thick slices in a single layer, otherwise bottom layers don't get topping, which is the best part). I can't even imagine how soggy on the bottom and sweet on the top it would be to use only half a loaf of bread. I made this for christmas morning breakfast and would definitely make again. I think, because it's so sweet, it would be ideal as just part of a brunch spread, as opposed to the only thing on the table. But so good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NEWHALL94
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent and so simple to make. We make this every year for Christmas breakfast, it's nice to have a yummy breakfast and not spend hours in the kitchen missing all the Christmas fun. I add a little extra egg mixture into the pan the night before and the bread soaks it right up, gives it a little more flavor, is moist on the inside and has a nice candy like coating on the outside once it's baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States