Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I have made this on several occasions, mainly for holidays and it always comes out nice. Even my picky boys will drop everything to eat it. Tonight, I am incorporating some of the leftover pumpkin pie filling that I always seem to be left with. It will add so much flavor to the egg/milk mixture. Just an idea for those of you preparing pumpkin pies the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I made the recipe as is minus the pecans (to avoid bothering those with nut allergies) for a baby shower...EVERYONE loved it! So easy to make, which makes it easy on you. I'm using the recipe again next week for a bridesmaid luncheon. Thank you for this submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was good. I did decrease the milk. I like my french toast kindda firm not soggy. This is perfect for a large crouwd at breaskfast or overnight guest. I will definately make again!!!!!!!!!!! In the future I plan make less of the liquid/batter to dip the bread. I only needed a half of a loaf and there was enough liquid to do a full french loaf i think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Yumm-a-roo! Turned out fantastic, and so easy. I used chopped walnuts instead and LOVED it. My bf and friends declared this the best they ever had, I served with powdered sugar and maple syrup. It's sweet, but so so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Is it possible to ruin this?? I didn't have Texas toast, so I layered 2 slices of whole wheat bread. I didn't have half & half, so I substitued buttermilk. I forgot to add the milk in the mixture for the first few pieces, so they soaked up a lot of the egg, and the remaining pieces were VERY milky. I used a little non-stick spray because it was almost gone. It was FABULOUS!!! No sticking, not soggy--perfect! This will be a weekend staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Moyle Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I have been on a "quest" for the best overnight french toast recipe and I have finally found this one! Really easy and very tasty. One of the simplest recipes of this type I have found. I am going to toss all of my other recipes and use this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
The pictures shown do not do this recipe justice. The only modification I made was to add 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon to the egg mixture. This recipe is SO YUMMY! Did I mention...THIS RECIPE IS SO YUMMY AND SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Very good, and easy! You do need to make two pans though for the egg mixture, do not just dump it all onto the bread. I doubled the bread, dipped it in the egg mix, then I spread the remaining over the bread. Turned out really good, moist but not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Becker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
YUM!!!!!! & EASY Who could ask for more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Made it for Easter brunch & it was a hit. I made a few modifications: 1) reduced half & half to 1/2 cup, not 1 cup 2) reduced brown sugar to 3/4 cup. It was still very sweet .... next time I'll reduce it to 2/3 cup. 3) I did not dip the bread slices, instead I poured the egg mixture over the bread. 4) I did spray the pan with PAM before adding the bread and I did flip the bread the before baking. I did not have problems with sticking. I prepared this at 7:00 pm, but wasn't planning to bake until noon the next day. I was concerned it would be too long, but it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States