Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Absolutely couldn't be simpler! I didn't have half and half so I just used 2% milk and it turned out beautifully. I used 2 whole baguettes because it's what I had in the pantry. I ended up making 1 1/2 recipes so that I could do some with pecans and some without. I will definitely be making this in the future. I will say that it didn't look too appetizing the night before, but once I put the topping on in the morning it looked beautiful. I reduced the milk by 1/2 c and it wasn't soggy at all! Perfect first day of school breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Wow! This is definitely the best make-ahead French Toast recipe I've come across. The secret to its success is in only dipping the bread in the egg mixture, rather than pouring the mixture over top. It keeps it from getting too soggy. The recipe's proportions aren't quite right as the quantity of egg mixture easily dips an entire 1lb loaf instead of the half loaf the recipe calls for. No problem - I just used the whole loaf and made two pans! I added a layer of fresh sliced peaches over one pan before pouring the caramel sauce. It was delicious, though that pan was definitely a bit soggy due to the extra juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Outstanding!!! I would just do less of the egg mixture to dip into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I found this made WAY more liquid than was needed; same for the topping. I cut both basically in half (3 eggs, half of the other liquid measures) and it was perfect. In the morning, I flip the bread slices over before adding the topping and baking. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Very easy to make. I used a mixture of leftover bread from a couple of dinners (including some biscuits) and I didn't add the cream b/c I didn't have any, but did not seem to cause a problem We will be making this again, but I will add cinnamon to the sauce next time. Kids and hubby all loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I have made this recipe many time and it's always a hit. This has become our tradition recipe for Christmas morning! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Made the first time this morning. Was Ok...don't think I'll make again. Or if I do, I will certainly tweek the recipe. 5 eggs-1.2 c. milk? Really? I had way too much left over...could have made another + recipe. Not very cost effective, but had nice flavor. Liked others much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This turned out WONDERFULLY! It is not very sweet, despite what you'd think and even my wife, who doesn't like too many nuts, just loved it. A total winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I have made this a number of times. The first time I followed the recipe and it tasted great. Since I make a few variations every time. LOL. Sometimes I'll throw some blueberries on top before baking or add a bit of grated nutmeg to the egg mixture or a bit of cinnamon sprinkled in with the brown sugar and butter. A very versatile recipe and a keeper in this household. Tomorrow I am going to slice an apple to put on top. YUMMIE!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I was also skeptical from previous reviews (would it be too soggy?), but decided to give it a try for New Years Day. (We've started a tradition where we do a New Year's Day Dash, and while we're out running, our breakfast bakes in the oven, so this recipe fit in perfectly with our tradition!) I followed the recipe, with a few modifications: added cinnamon to the egg mixture (yum!) and omitted the pecans (allergy). I made the recipe around noon the day before, tossed it in the fridge, and cleaned up - very quick process (20 min max including washing dishes). The dish took about 50 minutes in the oven. The first 45 minutes, I had a glass lid on the Corningware dish and for the last 5 minutes, removed the lid to allow the top of the french toast to get golden and a little bit crispy. My only comment as a "watch for" is that our dish was too sweet. The directions say to "spoon" the butter/brown sugar/syrup mixture over the top before baking, I would recommend "drizzle" so that your dish doesn't get so sweet. Next year, we will keep the tradition from this year - thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States