Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
New Family Favourite!! After serving this for Christmas breakfast, it was requested for all holiday and birthday breakfasts, and they wouldn't mind if i made it on sundays either! i served it up with powdered sugar and blueberries.. gosh, just talking about it makes me want to go and make it again! thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
First I like to say I made NO changes to the ingredients of this recipe. I did double this recipe and made it for Christmas brunch in my home along with two other breakfast casseroles. One was Chessy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole from Allrecipes (also gave a 5 star rating), Super Sausage Gravy from Allrecipes (also gave a 5 star rating), which we put over my brothers homemade biscuits, and my sister-in-law Vickie's Egg Casserole (that you put together the night before, gosh I love those recipes that you fix ahead of time). I was planning on 15-18 people. When I first made the Make Ahead French Toast it had no topping yet (and of course uncooked) it didn't look good at all. In fact I almost threw it out but I didn't, thank goodness. Once the topping is spooned over the next morning and it is baked to a golden brown it was heaven. Got tons of compliments. I have family members who do not like nuts so I made one side with nuts and the other side without. I ate the nut side and it was fantastic. The bread was fine uncut and I wouldn't neccesarily worry about cutting it up either unless I used a bread with a tough crust. Only dipped bread in liquid long enough to soak it WELL and then I DID NOT pour any remainder of liquid over the casserole. Turn out perfect. Very rich meal though but I only do it once a year. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Debbie. I WILL be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
The idea was great but the finished product wasn't as good as I'd hoped. It was soggy and the topping was hard to spread/ drizzle evenly. I also had problems with it sticking to the buttered AND sprayed dish. To avoid the sogginess I will make sure there is only one layer of bread next time and flip halfway, and I think I'll use non stick cookie sheets instead of the glass casserole dish. **I toasted the leftovers in the toaster oven the next day and they were even better. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This really easy and was a huge hit at Christmas. I used 1/2 cup of lowfat milk and put cinnamon and nutmeg in the egg mixture. I did have a lot of egg mixture leftover and tried to use the leftovers for frying pan french toast, but that wasn't as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
My family enjoyed this recipe. I only used 2 cups of milk total and I also used the whole loaf of French Bread so I would have extra. Otherwise, I followed it exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I tear my bread into pieces and add enough to fill a 9x13 pan-sometimes that means getting regular old loaf and tearing part of it up too. It looks so pretty that way. Also, add cinnamon and nutmeg to liquid mixture. Next time I might even try throwing a granny smith apple cut up into the mix. I think that would be wonderful. All in all, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This dish got rave reviews. I gave it a 4 star rating because it does stick a little to the pan if not well greased. Otherwise the taste was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was delicious. I took it to a baby shower and was repeatedly asked for the recipe. Just a reminder to everyone to grease your dish or the contents will stick horribly! I think I will add fruit the next time I make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Divine! Delicious for a special treat and easy enough for everyday. I added 2 T cinnamon (love cinnamon!!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
My favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States