Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Tried this recipe last week. Was a bit skeptical as well. I generally don't soak french toast for more than a minute because i don't like it too soft. However, i had some bread slices that were left out and dried and needed to use them up so i figured, French Toast! I mixed the "soak" as directed but since i like it more on the firm side, I only put in 1/2 cup of the milk. I also added a bit of cinnamon. The next day i made the glaze. (again, was skeptical....i mean, i never glazed french toast before) but tried it anyway, baked it and served. Waited for the reactions and well....it was awesome! Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYTESHADE74

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made this french toast for a recent birthday brunch- it was super easy and tasty (I was unsure about the whole make ahead deal) but nonetheless- 20 of my friends devoured this thing!! I add some cinnamon and cooked for a bit longer than the original recipe calls for...I couldn't tell you the exact time but enough time to let the bread firm/crunch up a bit...I wish I would have made an additional serving...everybody was asking for more! So so good...highly recommend and will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delaney

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this recipe for a family gathering of 24. I also made a few modifications. I cut the bread in slices and let them sit out to get a little stale, then I layered the dipped bread with pecans and cinnamon. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Made this once for Christmas breakfast, and it was quite good! Loved the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsyagurlmaia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Toasted pecans before adding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Made as directed sans pecans.. the dish just didn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Excellent and easy!! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Fantastic recipe!! I think the only way it wouldn't be a favorite is if someone didn't follow the recipe! It is so good that I have already made another double batch and froze it. The family just takes what they want out of the freezer and pops it in the microwave to eat on the go. Walmart sells sliced french bread which is perfect to use. 2 loaves and double the recipe. I will use this recipe for years to come and have been asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Made this for a family gathering and got rave reviews from all. The only complaint,why did I not make two pans? My only changes were walnuts unstead of pecans(had the walnuts) and a light sprinkle of cinnamon over the topbefore pouring thesauce over to bake Absolutely loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omemee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was fantastic this morning! The kids loved it and my husband love! I really liked it as well! The real challenges are the fact the egg dip is a lot. So I had leftover bread and made another small batch with French toast sticks. I'm not quite sure why people have soggy issues? Don't pour the egg dip over the bread. Just dip well and then cover over night. Next day I put in the oven for 40 min at the regular temp, 5 min broiled and the key is making sure you do that 5 min waiting before serving! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States