Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I took the advice of others and cut back on the milk to ensure the french toast would not be soggy. But that didn't seem to help. the brown sugar caramelized and turned to a hard rock mess, meanwhile the middle of the french toast was completely uncooked. There was no way I could sever raw eggs to my guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
What I loved most about this was how easy it was to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Easy and delicious! What more could a person want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
BEST EVER!!!!! We make it every Easter and our Guests love it. we stuck to the oringinal recipe and it turned out tasting so delicous, i wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Superb! Better than skillet french toast. Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
My husband and I LOVED this! I had a leftover french baguette from a party I hosted, and wanted to use it. I thought this sounded good, since it would soften the leftover bread and I could do it ahead of time. I was out of brown sugar so I omitted that, and I just sprinkled a tiny bit confectioners sugar on top (mostly for looks...) before serving with pure maple syrup. My husband said it was the best french toast he ever had. I froze the leftovers, and it was just as good reheated. I will definitely make it again and probably will continue to leave out the brown sugar since it was delicious without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I made this for a graduation party, and everyone liked it. Some people loved it, some thought it was a little too sweet. I used about 1 C less milk, so it wasn't soggy. Next time I would definitely decrease the caramel sauce. But, it was all gobbled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This recipe was absolutely outrageous! The only thing I did different was to add 1 teas. cinn. to the egg mix, put under the broiler at the end till a little brown and bubbly and I left off the nuts, only because of the picky kids. They tasted almost like a fresh baked caramel roll....YUMMY! Thank You for this wonderful addition to my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
When my MIL tells me "this is gourmet" over and over again during our Christmas day breakfast, it must be unbelievable. Four of us adults and two teenagers devoured this. If I had made two batches, they would have eaten them. Followed recipe exactly except cut back on the milk a bit. This is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Awesome! Made it for Christmas brunch, only difference was cut the milk to 1/2 cup... it was excellent! I cut the bread down the center lengthwise, then into the 1" inch slices to make it "chunky" looking, worked perfectly. Crispy, not soggy at all, tasty, it was the favorite, and sooo easy. Oh I did toast the pecans before adding to the topping mix. Will be making this again soon. Did I mention how easy it was? :) lol I am not the one to pick a recipe with 20 steps and the simplicity, and making it ahead was just ideal. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShadowVine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States