Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Fantastic recipe!! I think the only way it wouldn't be a favorite is if someone didn't follow the recipe! It is so good that I have already made another double batch and froze it. The family just takes what they want out of the freezer and pops it in the microwave to eat on the go. Walmart sells sliced french bread which is perfect to use. 2 loaves and double the recipe. I will use this recipe for years to come and have been asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Made this for a family gathering and got rave reviews from all. The only complaint,why did I not make two pans? My only changes were walnuts unstead of pecans(had the walnuts) and a light sprinkle of cinnamon over the topbefore pouring thesauce over to bake Absolutely loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omemee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was fantastic this morning! The kids loved it and my husband love! I really liked it as well! The real challenges are the fact the egg dip is a lot. So I had leftover bread and made another small batch with French toast sticks. I'm not quite sure why people have soggy issues? Don't pour the egg dip over the bread. Just dip well and then cover over night. Next day I put in the oven for 40 min at the regular temp, 5 min broiled and the key is making sure you do that 5 min waiting before serving! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Really good. Used bread from Costco. Drenched bread the night before and saved leftover liquid. In the morning I used the leftover liquid to pour back over the bread. I let it sit out for a bit and then put the topping on and baked it as directed. Made on Christmas morning and everyone liked it- I'll make it next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I used 2 cups of half and half only and eliminated the milk. My small town grocery store didn't have french bread so I used English muffin bread instead. Added 2 tbsp of sugar and 2 tsp cinnamon to milk mix. Otherwise prepared as written- was absolutely delish! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Good but I prefer more traditional French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
What a great recipe. Spur of the moment family from out of town stayed with us and I needed a simple yet delicious breakfast for 6 adults and 1 child. I did not have a french bread in the house but I had a lot of leftover hotdog buns in the freezer. I split the hotdog buns apart, dipped in the egg mixture, spread in pan. I followed the recipe. I used enough hot dogs buns until the egg mixture was gone. About 2 layers in a 9x13 aluminum foil pan that I had buttered well. Once I had the hot dogs in the pan I covered it first with plastic wrap and then with aluminum foil and put it in the refrigerator. In the morning I turned the pan upside down for about 10 minutes while I was getting the rest of the items ready. Put pan upright, took plastic and foil off and spread the butter and brown sugar mixture over it. This turned out really well and everybody liked it a lot. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Absolutely couldn't be simpler! I didn't have half and half so I just used 2% milk and it turned out beautifully. I used 2 whole baguettes because it's what I had in the pantry. I ended up making 1 1/2 recipes so that I could do some with pecans and some without. I will definitely be making this in the future. I will say that it didn't look too appetizing the night before, but once I put the topping on in the morning it looked beautiful. I reduced the milk by 1/2 c and it wasn't soggy at all! Perfect first day of school breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Wow! This is definitely the best make-ahead French Toast recipe I've come across. The secret to its success is in only dipping the bread in the egg mixture, rather than pouring the mixture over top. It keeps it from getting too soggy. The recipe's proportions aren't quite right as the quantity of egg mixture easily dips an entire 1lb loaf instead of the half loaf the recipe calls for. No problem - I just used the whole loaf and made two pans! I added a layer of fresh sliced peaches over one pan before pouring the caramel sauce. It was delicious, though that pan was definitely a bit soggy due to the extra juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Outstanding!!! I would just do less of the egg mixture to dip into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States