Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
very good and very easy to make. Didn't have any half and half on hand, so used gingerbread coffee creamer instead. Used pre-sliced Texas Toast.Made approx 16 slices. Reduced brown sugar to 1/2 cup. I would suggest spraying with "Pam". I buttered the pan and it was tough getting the pieces out. Will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Soooo good! I left out the pecans and used sourdough bread (wanted bigger slices of bread.) I poured the mixture over the bread slices but had to layer them in the pan to fit everything in. The exposed slices got nice and brown and those underneath were soft, but that was a good thing, as you got a bit of soft and crunchy in the same piece of bread. There seemed to be a lot of liquid, but it all got absorbed into the bread overnight. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was absolutely deliciuous! It is a bit sweet, but that is what our family most enjoyed. The liquid mixture could be cut in half for next time though. THere was way too much left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was awesome. I have made it for a youth group 90 high schoolers and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This has become a Christmas morning favorite! The only thing I added to this recipe was a BIG splash of bourbon to the milk/egg/cream mixture. I make 2 9x13 inch dishes from this recipe, unless I cut the liquids in half, because there's always so much left over. And I pour the excess over the bread in the pan, as I've read others do. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jersey Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This recipe is soooo good! Be careful about the French bread that you buy - mine was two smaller loaves (1 pound each) and they were soooo dense. Luckily the milk/egg mixture loosened it up a bit. But the bread chosen should have the texture of white bread or even less dense than that if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I used only 3/4 cup brown sugar and 1 cup milk (as others have suggested) I also added a pinch of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. I used challah bread instead of French bread. This was delicious and a big hit at my brunch. I was careful to grease the pan well and not overlap the bread and didn't have any problems with the toast sticking. With the reduced milk and sugar, it was neither too soggy nor too sticky. Two thumbs up! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Love this recipe. Used half the amount of liquid still had plenty. I poured remaining liquid on bread in pan. Made with day old bread from my bread machine. Was not soggy at all. Loved the topping. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyquilter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
After reading a lot of the reviews, I opted to make only half of the liquid portion and used an entire french baguette...worked out perfectly, with nothing to throw away. My husband was really skeptical at first, but luckily he promised to try...Well, he ate 3 servings! Also note, I did not sprinkle cinnamon and I used slivered almonds instead of pecans. So they did not taste like cinnamon buns to me. Great hit! Will definitely try this for larger family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I used the ingredients as listed and made no substitutions while making this recipe. Although, the only thing I will advise for folks to do is use a pyrex glass dish and spray "Pam" on it. Bake as directed, but instead of allowing the hot dish to wait 5 minutes, serve immediately; not doing so will cause the syrup to thicken on your dish and can be a headache to remove. It was a great dish and I would even go as far as using this "egg and milk mixture" for your french toast recipe...it's that good...sprinkle your cinnamon and nutmug and delish!!! It was a good recipe, but I gave it four stars because the title was a little misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States